Scanning in OS X

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by menoinjun, Mar 3, 2002.

  1. menoinjun macrumors 6502a

    menoinjun

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    #1
    I can't find scanner drivers for my Canon scanner for OS X. I came across this program on Apple's site, and I'm wondering...is this the first true OS X scanning program out there, or am I just missing something? I have to boot into OS 9 everytime I want to scan.

    Link: http://www.apple.com/downloads/macosx/imaging_3d/silverfastaihdr.html

    Any comments?

    -Pete

    Edit: Does anyone know what this program really is? I am away from my Mac right now, so I can't test it.
     
  2. AlphaTech macrumors 601

    AlphaTech

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Location:
    Natick, MA
    #2
    That is the same software that came with my new Epson scanner... I believe that the update for OS X is fairly new, but I am not surprised. I have been waiting for Photoshop 7 to scan under OS X. Since it has been announce and will soon be in channels, the wait is almost over.
     
  3. eyelikeart Moderator emeritus

    eyelikeart

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Location:
    Metairie, LA
    #3
    thank god someone is trying to figure this out!

    I finally got the SCSI - USB connector for my scanner....and now problems...

    it isn't recognized on the system bus for OS 9...and the driver is incompatible....the driver for the scanner works fine though...

    In OS X....it is seen without the driver....but the driver for the scanner is useless...


    I had downloaded something called "VueScan" from versiontracker....doesn't work....I'm going to test this one right now to see how it works out...
     
  4. eyelikeart Moderator emeritus

    eyelikeart

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Location:
    Metairie, LA
    #4
    ok so I presume I'll be waiting a while before I can scan in X.... :(
     
  5. menoinjun thread starter macrumors 6502a

    menoinjun

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    #5
    Eye-

    So does that mean that you tried the program and it didn't work?? Anyone else have any ideas?

    -Pete
     
  6. eyelikeart Moderator emeritus

    eyelikeart

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Location:
    Metairie, LA
    #6
    Pete...

    I can't get anything to work for me yet!

    I had a talk with AlphaTech earlier about this....I think I'll have to break down sometime down the road and just get a new scanner...
     
  7. menoinjun thread starter macrumors 6502a

    menoinjun

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    #7
    I'll be home again tomorrow. (spring break. can you believe I went to Buffalo NY to visit friends instead of having my senior year in college spring break in cancun!! i'm a dumbass)

    I'll try it with my Canoscan 1220U. Maybe it has something to do with your scanner being run through the converter to USB. I'll let you know how it works out.

    -Pete
     

Share This Page