school firewall

Discussion in 'macOS' started by drumdidly, Jun 20, 2006.

1. drumdidly macrumors newbie

Jun 20, 2006
    okay so im new to macs, so i figured asking was my best bet...

the school i am enrolled in has a firewall to block everything practically... and none of the masking sites like vtunnel or browsefromwork will work, yes they're blocked too

i was wondering if there was any way to bypass this security?
    i've searched google, but between my apple ignorance and thoughts that the published info was for older systems... i didn't attempt anything

thanks for any responses at all
  2. Aperture macrumors 68000

Mar 19, 2006

So I've found a few sites that might help you. But first, are you going through the school's wireless connection or LAN with your mac? Or are you using the school's computer? If you can give me some more information on your connection than I might be able to help. Also, are they using a Proxy to limit your access? What sites can and cannot you get to? Can you or are you trying to use an IM client? And is there any software the school installed to limit your access?

3. nicoritschel macrumors regular

May 22, 2006
    I'd recommend VNC'ing to a computer at home, and accessing the internet through that.
  4. kretzy macrumors 604

Sep 11, 2004
    Canberra, Australia
    It's blocked for a reason, so aren't you just better off waiting until you get home so you can do whatever you like on the internet? Then there's no potential of getting yourself into trouble.
  5. drumdidly thread starter macrumors newbie

Jun 20, 2006
    its a wireless lan, every computer shares the same connection

in order to access the internet i had to accept an agreement... it was the only page that would load when i opened firefox. after i hit accept and put in my student id + password i had to restart the computer. i can access aim, jabber, etc, but no websites like or or even to try to get to them. any time i try this shows up on the page