Scientific Atlanta HD DVR and Mac

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by h0e0h, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. h0e0h macrumors 6502a

    h0e0h

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Location:
    West Monroe, Louisiana
    #1
    I have this SA Explorer 8300HD and my system profiler recognizes the DVR hooked up via firewire, but i was wondering if anyone knows how to pull recorded material off the DVR via 6-pin to 6-pin firewire. Any recommendations are acceptable.
     
  2. fradac macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #2
    ya actually, there is this program called irecord. the site is

    http://www.ammesset.com/software/irecord/

    i have my mac mini plugged to my Comcast Motorola DCT6200 cable box.

    and these days, i have been recording world cup matches in HD :)

    hope it works for you
     
  3. h0e0h thread starter macrumors 6502a

    h0e0h

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Location:
    West Monroe, Louisiana
    #3
    thanks, i'll give this a whirl tomorrow... the DVR wasn't even recognized in windows... i just got "beep beep beep" when i plugged it in via firewire
     
  4. h0e0h thread starter macrumors 6502a

    h0e0h

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Location:
    West Monroe, Louisiana
    #4
    iRecord isn't quite what i had in mind. I was looking more for a way to mount the DVR as an external HD and then transfer files from it.
     
  5. AtHomeBoy_2000 macrumors 6502a

    AtHomeBoy_2000

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    #5
    TYpically, set-top boxes use a propriotary file format to prevent exactly what you want to do. It's a digiral rights worry. It's not a DVD TS stream or a simple MPEG2/MPEG4 file. It's usually wrapped in some sofrt of other file format.
     
  6. h0e0h thread starter macrumors 6502a

    h0e0h

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Location:
    West Monroe, Louisiana
    #6
    shouldn't i, though, be able to mount the DVR as an HD in finder? at least in windows eh?
     
  7. ccrandall77 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Franklin, WI
    #7
    I know this thread is old, but I'm not finding much online about iRecord. I've got a TimeWarner SA8300HD. I connected it to my MacMini and have the latest iRecord installed. iRecord sees my cable box and it appeard to have recorded a 7GB file when I tried to record a 1hr program on Discovery HD. However, the file extension was *.0 and the file cannot be opened by Quicktime, VLC, MPlayer, and DivX Player. Anyone know what I might be doing wrong? I had it set to record a *.m2t file so I'm confused as to why it wrote a *.0 file.

    TIA
    Curt
     

Share This Page