Scoring for F@H

Discussion in 'Distributed Computing' started by Mr. Anderson, Aug 21, 2002.

  1. Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Location:
    VA
    #1
    Someone want to explain to me why AmbitiousLemon has a score of 5 with 1 unit complete while nparker has .5 with one unit complete?

    I'm going to probably finish my first unit tomorrow, and I was curious why the scrores were so varied.

    D
     
  2. macrumors G3

    jelloshotsrule

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Location:
    serendipity
    #2
    the harder/more processor intensive the unit, the more points it's worth. not sure if there are any 5 point units around right now... i'd say, if it takes less than a day, it will be about 2 points, unless it's like 2-3 a day then it's like .5 points... 5 pointers take about 2-3 days...

    word
     
  3. Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #3
  4. thread starter Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Location:
    VA
    #4
    so I finished a unit, and got a whopping 2 points - whoohoo, but even though the individual stats come up, I'm not on the team page - why is that? Is there something I need to do?

    Here's my individual stats:
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #5
    You're number 75 right now. :)
     
  6. thread starter Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Location:
    VA
    #6
    ah, so it just took a while, thanks. I don't think I'll ever get that many units done, but every little bit helps. We'll see what happens when I get a new machine next year - that might change things a bit.

    D
     
  7. Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #7
    MacRumors is in place #39 on the teams page. Must be dukestreet who made the difference. :)
     
  8. macrumors 68000

    pimentoLoaf

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Location:
    The SimCity Deli
    #8
    They fixed the p145/p146 data; p146's mislablelled are now being given 20 days to crunch. g3 people have nothing to worry about.

    And they score :eek: --- 20 !!! points.

    :cool:
     
  9. Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #9
    That's good because both my dual G4 and my G3 have one. 5,000,000 little big steps of crunching goodness.
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Location:
    Eindhoven
    #10
    only for p146: deadline = 20 days, credit = 6 :(
     
  11. thread starter Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Location:
    VA
    #11
    Ha, my 3.2 points of difference aren't all that much. But I'm working on p146 right now, so that will be a nice 6 points in a day or so.

    But I have another question - I was looking at the stats of how many units were received per day and we had a couple days of over 200 and nothing like that since - anyone know why that happened? Is it going to happen again?

    D
     
  12. Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #12
    There is a fair amount of fluctuation from day to day...but our output is on a slight downward trend.

    We'll doublecheck to see that all of our machines are up and running here in the lab. This should be our last week of solid output on our end for a while, since the students come back next week.
     
  13. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    #13
    Harumph, anyone else having trouble sending results back? Or is it just me? Try again later I suppose...
     
  14. thread starter Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Location:
    VA
    #14
    Ouch, well we'll be going in a downward cycle then, I hope we don't drop out of the top 100. I'll look into maybe getting a few machines here at work to add to the mix.

    D
     
  15. Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #15
    We should hold our position pretty well.

    There are few teams behind us that can catch up, and quite a few we can still pass...but it's definitely going to be slow for a while.
     
  16. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    #16
    Shame, right when we are dead even with Storageforum. I'll see what I can do, trying to recruit a few friends...
     
  17. thread starter Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Location:
    VA
    #17
    on this current drive for new members how many did we get? I hope I wasn't the only one.

    D
     
  18. Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #18
    I've not been able to send the itty bitty one from the G3 and now it's processing the huge one so, it'll probably be a while until it posts anything. The G4 returned a p145 today.
     
  19. macrumors 604

    MacBandit

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    Location:
    Springfield, OR (Home of the Simpsons)
    #19
    Explain this please. 2 Work Units but only scored 1.
     

    Attached Files:

  20. Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #20
    .5 (that's 1/2) a point per Work Unit...

    Here's the page that shows the current proteins and their point value:
    http://folding.stanford.edu/psummary.html
     
  21. macrumors 604

    MacBandit

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    Location:
    Springfield, OR (Home of the Simpsons)
    #21
    Okay I'm starting to understand this. I've been using the screensaver and there is no way as far as I know of knowing which protein strand your currently processing. I'm will be receiving my new computer this week and will be letting it work on this more.

    So here is a question what is the fastest way to process F@H with a dual processor?
     
  22. thread starter Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Location:
    VA
    #22
    Hey MacBandit - change your team, all your work won't get attributed to MacRumors unless you do! We're team number 3446
     
  23. macrumors 604

    MacBandit

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    Location:
    Springfield, OR (Home of the Simpsons)
    #23
    Already did that but it was only about 30min about so it probably won't post quite yet.
     
  24. Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #24
    I don't know, but turning it on usually helps mine. <ducks>
     
  25. macrumors 604

    MacBandit

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    Location:
    Springfield, OR (Home of the Simpsons)
    #25
    Hahahahah :) Very Good!!

    I was wondering which Client worked the fastest. Text Client, Graphical Client, or the Screensaver. Mainly do any of them take advantage of a dual processor or should you just run two clients to tie up both processors.
     

Share This Page