Screen capturing resulting in completely black or white image

Discussion in 'macOS' started by acidity, Feb 27, 2007.

  1. acidity macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    #1
    I am trying to take screenshots of window by following methods described at:

    http://guides.macrumors.com/Taking_Screenshots_in_Mac_OS_X

    If I use the SHORTCUT method then all the resulting images are just black. Nothing but just black screen. If I use Grab, then the resulting images are only white.

    What is the problem? I had taken screenshots using the SHORTCUT method and it used to work. Suddenly today its not working.
     
  2. Apemanblues macrumors regular

    Apemanblues

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Location:
    Zombieland
    #2
    Are you trying to capture a DVD screenshot? If it's a protected DVD then that's what you will get, unless you run it through VLC.

    Otherwise, I don't know.
     
  3. acidity thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    #3
    Nope.

    Just plain windows to demonstrate some software. Very strange. Will research more tomorrow.
     
  4. acidity thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    #4
    This gets even more strange. I was checking out this page:

    http://silvermac.com/mac-os-x-keyboard-shortcuts/

    If I use:

    Code:
    Cmd-Shift 4 = Select an area to be captured to a file
    then I get a black image.

    But if I use:

    Code:
    md-Shift 4, then press Space = Capture entire window
    Then I get the correct output. The window is shown as it should be and not "black" or "white".

    PS: I have recently downloaded QuickSilver and changed lot of keyboard mappings. Can that be an issue?
     
  5. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #5
    If you have an application that blocks screenshots running, such as Apple's DVD Player, close it.
     
  6. acidity thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    #6
    Closed all the applications (with just Safari running) and still the same result.
     
  7. Palladium macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Location:
    Northern Ireland, UK
    #7
    It's happened to me!!

    Suddenly I am getting exactly the same behaviour as the original poster. I have made wide use of selected screen shots (cmd + shift +4) in the past. Up to last week they worked fine. Suddenly today it gives totally black pictures. If I use Grab they are totally white. If I add spacebar to the above sequence I get a proper shot of the full screen but I only want shots of selected areas. Is anyone else finding this? Has anyone any fresh ideas? I am running a 2Ghz MacBook with 2GBytes RAM. DVD software is not running and I am unaware of anything I have changed since last week.
     
  8. Palladium macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Location:
    Northern Ireland, UK
    #8
    All's well

    I repaired privileges no change.
    I did a full virus scan with ClamXav - no infected files.
    Restarted the computer and bingo all is well. So I'm a happy bunny but I would like to know what went wrong.
     

Share This Page