Screen Grabs saving as PDFs?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by iChief, Sep 24, 2004.

1. iChief macrumors member

iChief

I'm a Mac newbie - I just recently bought an iBook - and I love it! However, I'm having a small but annoying problem with the Grab utility.

The first couple of times I used Grab the images were saved as JPEGs which would default open with Preview which was great - exactly what I would have wanted. However now, whenever I do a screen grab the images are saved as PDFs and they default open with Acrobat Reader. I don't know how this happened and I want to reverse it (Reader's too slow to boot up).

I've opened Grab from the Utilities folder and had a look at Preferences but I can't seem to find out how to change it.

Any help would be much appreciated for this, I know, insignificant but frustrating problem.

2. Brize macrumors 6502a

Brize

There are a couple of things to consider here:

First, you don't need to use the Grab utility. Command-Shift-3 will take a full screenshot; Command-Shift-4 will allow you to select an area of the screen to capture, and Command-Shift-4 and then spacebar will change your cursor to a camera that will capture selected windows.

In terms of setting default applications, use Ctrl-Click on a PDF file, click 'Get Info', change the 'Open With' application, and then click 'Change All'.

Finally, to convert PDF to jpeg, use File>Export from the Preview menu.

Enjoy the iBook!

3. iChief thread starter macrumors member

iChief

Thanks Brize - I'll try those when I get home. I'm at work at the mo' working on a Windoze machine - crashed on me twice already today!

Yeah, I'm totally enjoying my iBook - no problems as yet - even the Grab thing was only a minor inconvenience.

How's things in old Blighty? I grew up in London but am now living in Ireland.

4. 7on macrumors 601

7on

And adding a control with those key combos will save the screen grab in the clipboard.

5. yellow Moderator emeritus

yellow