Screen Not showing up on Macintosh Performa 475.

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by 4tified, Oct 2, 2006.

1. 4tified macrumors newbie

First of all, my name is Edward and I am fairly new to Mac collecting...not new to computers... anyway, I am having trouble with my screen showing up on my mac... I have a 15-pin VGA - Mac VGA connector (I'm not sure if it's called that or not), and I can't get anything on the screen when I turn it on. I've checked the processor seating, switched out the ram, then switched it back, I've checked the tightness of the vga connector and I tried 3 different monitors and they get no signal. When I turn on the mac, I hear the startup sound and hard drive activity, but nothing on the screen whatsoever... I've taken all the simple steps I can. It worked fine once before, so I'm not sure if the port is bad or what. Can I be missing anything here? I don't know how to get to the Mac bios either. Your help would be greatly appreciated. ThankS!
    -Edward-

2. dpaanlka macrumors 601

dpaanlka

A lot of those VGA - DB-15 ("Macintosh Video") adapters don't work very well on older pre-PowerPC systems.

There is usually some sort of switch where you can select resolution. Make sure you set it really low like 640 x 480.

It is possible that your newer (I assume) PC displays might not support the super low refresh rates that the 475 is putting out.

Also, open it up and check to see that you or somebody else didn't remove the VRAM modules.

Finally, there is no Mac BIOS.

3. dpaanlka macrumors 601

dpaanlka

To clarify, a physical switch, set of jumpers, or selector knob on the adapter itself.

4. 4tified thread starter macrumors newbie

Well, the screen that I'm using now it pretty old (like 1992 I think) and I switched the selector to the lowest resolution and still nothing... I also checked the vram modules and they seem to be in place. Any other ideas? (thanks by the way for the info so far)

5. dpaanlka macrumors 601

dpaanlka