screen saver

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by JzzTrump22, Jun 25, 2004.

1. JzzTrump22 macrumors 65816

Apr 13, 2004
    New York
    i'm trying to put a screen saver on my PB. It's called FLUID. It says i'm supposed to drag the file into library, screen savers, directory. But when i get to the screen saver folder theres no directory folder to go to. Can someone walk me through it step by step[ from where you start at the beginning. I'm new to macs, sorry if this sounds stupid.
  2. HexMonkey Administrator

Staff Member

Feb 5, 2004
    New Zealand
    1. Go to either /Library (if the screen saver will be available to all users) or Home/Library (if it will just be available to the current user).
    2. Once there, open the "Screen Savers" folder. If it is not there, create it. Make sure the name is exactly right.
    3. Put the screen saver in the "Screen Savers" folder.
    4. Go to System Preferences, and then "Desktop & Screen Saver".
    5. Click on the "Screen Saver" tab and select the screen saver from the list.
  3. musicpyrite macrumors 68000

Jan 6, 2004
    Cape Cod
    When you normall double click on you Macs hard drive icon on the desktop, you are presented with a choice of folders, Applications, System, Library, ect.

You want to double click on the Library folder, and then search for the Screen Saver folder, then drag the Fluid icon to that folder. If you can't find the Screen Saver folder, click View>Arrange>by Name, then look for the Screen Saver folder.

Edit: HexMonkey beat me too it, I type too slow... :(
  4. JzzTrump22 thread starter macrumors 65816

Apr 13, 2004
    New York
    It doesn't work, but it's probably because i'm doing it wrong. I donloaded it, and the icon for it is on my desktop. I went into the Hard Drive and into Library then into Screen Savers. I clciked the icon on the dektop and dragged it into the screen saver folder. Then i went into system preferences then backround/screensaver and it's not on the list.