Screen Share w/ PC

Discussion in 'OS X' started by Aperture, Nov 2, 2007.

  1. macrumors 68000

    Aperture

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Location:
    PA
    #1
    This may have already been asked but I searched and found nothing.

    Is it possible to use the built in Leopard Screen Sharing to control a PC? Can this be done from the "Shared" panel in the Finder? I'm guessing this is just wishful thinking but it would be awesome if you could.
     
  2. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    #2
    VNC Open Standard, BABY!

    Hey bro, you just need the PC to be running a VNC server, and then absolutley you can share the screen!

    good luck, lallenlowe
     
  3. macrumors demi-god

    /dev/toaster

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #3
    There are a ton of free (legally) VNC servers for Windows, don't get suckered into paying for one.

    For a Mac client, use Chicken of the VNC (Not maintained anymore, but your best bet)
     
  4. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    #4
    No Chickens, all big cats

    Hey actually, Leopards built in screen sharing client IS a vnc client, so no need to run out and download chicken of the vnc. cool, I know!

    lallenlowe
     
  5. Guest

    Sky Blue

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #5
    Or you can navigate to Go » Connect to Server and type vnc://1.2.3.4 in the input box (where 1.2.3.4 is the computer's IP address).
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Aperture

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Location:
    PA
    #6
    If I get a VNC server onto the PC, will a "Share Screen" button show up in the Finder? I'm not quite sure how (besides using the Finder's Go command) to connect to the VNC server on the PC.
     
  7. macrumors 68040

    plinden

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    #7
    Sky Blue has explained how to (potentially) do it. But remember, you need to download and install a VNC server on your PC - this might be an issue on a work PC. It should work though, with a Linux machine running a VNC server.

    If you have XP Pro, you have Microsoft's Remote Desktop built in, and you can enable that. But that doesn't use VNC and you need Microsoft's RDC to connect (or one of the third party equivalents). A PC with Remote Desktop enabled won't show up in Shared.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Aperture

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Location:
    PA
    #8
    Alright, I got it. Thank you everyone so much! What I ended up doing was copying the screen sharing app into my app folder so it is easier to get to. Then, I made a web clipping of the "attached devices" section on my router's page so I can see the up to date IP addresses. I installed TightVNC on the PCs and it works flawlessly.
     
  9. macrumors G3

    QCassidy352

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #9
    back from the dead

    Sorry to resurrect an old thread, but I need some help with this issue.

    I'm trying to allow a PC to view a Mac's screen. They are not on the same network.

    So far, I've got TightVNC on the PC, and I can see the PC screen from a mac on the same network (system/library/coreservices/screensharing --> put in the IP of the PC). BUT, the same method doesn't work when the connection comes from outside my network. I've tried putting in the external IP, but the connection is instantly refused.

    Even if that did work, I'm not sure how I'd reverse the process to see the mac screen from the PC. Thoughts?

    Finally, anyone have any experience with livelook? Looks like it could work (for a modest fee), but I'm concerned about security and ease of use (mostly security).

    Thanks a lot!

    Edit: I think I've got it. A free program named "team viewer" seems to do exactly what I want, and rather easily, too. If anyone has any experience with team viewer I'd love to hear it, but otherwise, I think I'm good now.
     
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    #10
    will this also work over the internet?
     
  11. macrumors 65816

    MooneyFlyer

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    Boston
    #11
    Used TeamViewer for a while and eventually switched to Yugma. I think TeamViewer was timing out after a while on the free version at the time (not sure if it still does that). Both require someone at the other machine I believe. For remote admin of computers I use www.logmein.com -- works well, free...
     

Share This Page