Screen sharing not working with 10.6.4

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by Daschund, Jun 21, 2010.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Location:
    New York Citeeeeeeyyyy!
    #1
    I have used Screen Sharing via the "Back to my Mac" feature of MobileMe for a while, always without problem. I'd use it all the time to control my home computer from my work. Now after updating the computer to 10.6.4 the screen sharing stopped working. I can access the drives and volumes on the computer, but can't do a screen sharing. I can access the other MacPro that is on the same network but has 10.6.3 fine, without any problem. Any ideas how do I do to fix this?
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #2
    I can't speak to Back to My Mac, but certainly Screen Sharing between 10.6.4 machines seems to work normally.

    A.
     
  3. macrumors 68040

    calderone

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle
    #3
    Turn screen sharing off and back on again.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Location:
    New York Citeeeeeeyyyy!
    #4
    Tried that and it didn't work...

    Also tried connecting without the Back to My Mac and accessing it through the network instead. No go either.

    Also, just realized that I can't even access the volumes. I thought I had been able to do that this afternoon but apparently not.

    I can actually access the volumes on it through Back To My Mac, but not trying to connect via Finder>Go>Connect to Server... Very frustrating
     
  5. macrumors 68040

    calderone

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle
    #5
    Well, I thought you were able to connect to network volumes, which killed my first suggestion. Since that isn't the case, try this.

    1. Open Activity Monitor
    2. Force Quit "NetAuthAgent"

    This should solve your problem.

    Back to my Mac problem uses a different authentication scheme for file shares.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Location:
    New York Citeeeeeeyyyy!
    #6
    Hmmmm... The plot thickens... LOL

    I don't have that running... Here's a screenshot of my Activity Monitor:
     

    Attached Files:

  7. macrumors 68040

    calderone

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle
    #7
    Is AppleVNCServer running (it should be)? Try killing that if it is. It should be restarted automatically.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Location:
    New York Citeeeeeeyyyy!
    #8
    Didn't work either... :-(
     

Share This Page