Scripters I may need your help

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by Wes, Oct 12, 2002.

  1. Wes macrumors 68020

    Wes

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2001
    Location:
    London
    #1
    How can I make my computer connect to the internet everytime I log in?

    Do I need a script or is it some option I am not seeing?

    Thanks for any help,
    Wes

    Edit: os X.2.1, usb adsl modem. Need any more info, just ask.
     
  2. jvaska macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2002
    Location:
    Haiti/NYC
    #2
    i'm no scripter...but couldn't just load drop an alias for the internet connect in the startup folder? hmmm...maybe that wouldn't work...

    or...just drop an alias of your web browser in the startup folder and you kill two birds with one stone...browser and it will connect when it launches...

    hehehe...i got to learn some scripting...it's pathetic that i don't know any...jv

    :)
     
  3. Wes thread starter macrumors 68020

    Wes

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2001
    Location:
    London
    #3
    I am ultimately lazy, I want it to connect for me. If I just put an alias it won't connect for me. Thanks for the input, I know I could just tell it to connect to the net when opening a tcp/ip app, but I would rather not have to launch ie or whatever every startup. I'm still :confused:
     
  4. Tiauguinho macrumors 6502a

    Tiauguinho

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #4
    W-_-W, since you have DSL i dont understand the need to use internet connect, because you're not dialing to anywhere. I have cable modem, and I have it set for DHCP server and it's always conected. But, build this script with your script editor:

    tell application "Internet Connect" to activate

    ( this will only open Internet Connect, not connect it. To connect it use the instructions on the Dictionary, where you'll have to set it to connect using your configurations)

    Hope I did help. Anything just ask.
     
  5. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #5
    Tiauguinho, I have spoken with W-_-W, his ADSL modem is on his USB port and is not an always up connection, even though it doesn't realy dial anywahere it does bring up the dial-up dialog box where, as with a regular dial-up, you have to enter a username and password. Once you hit connect you are connected instantly, theres no dialing, it's just the fact that you do have to manually connect.
     
  6. Wes thread starter macrumors 68020

    Wes

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2001
    Location:
    London
    #6
    Right on Edesign, now scripters, if you are reading this, help!
     
  7. Tiauguinho macrumors 6502a

    Tiauguinho

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #7
    Ahhhh... I didn't know that it existed a connection from that type, it was my bad. Thanks edesignuk for explainig me!


    Build this script W-_-W(copy and paste it to the script editor):

    tell application "Internet Connect"
    activate
    connect
    end tell


    If it doesn't work please tell me.

    Hope I did help this time :)

    Tiago Carvalho
     
  8. Wes thread starter macrumors 68020

    Wes

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2001
    Location:
    London
    #8
    OK it works here is the final script:

    tell application "Internet Connect"
    activate
    connect
    quit
    end tell

    Thanks for your help guys, now I can be lazy ;-)
     
  9. Wes thread starter macrumors 68020

    Wes

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2001
    Location:
    London
    #9
    Just tested it after a boot, works like a charm.

    Once again thanks, you saved me 1 click.
     
  10. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #10
    tut, tut, lazy boy! :D :p ;)
    ...good lad! ;)
     
  11. Tiauguinho macrumors 6502a

    Tiauguinho

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #11
    No problem W-_-W! Im glad that I was able to help!
     
  12. benixau macrumors 65816

    benixau

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #12
    go lazy people. If we mac men wanted to do hard work to do this, we would have bought pcs .....
     
  13. Wes thread starter macrumors 68020

    Wes

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2001
    Location:
    London
    #13
    I'll have this mac for at least 3 years, and will turn it on at least one time a day (usually more).

    That's 1095 clicks, I could be saving myself from arthiritis. ;)
     

Share This Page