SCSI 68pin with 80pin adapter in PowerMac G4 AGP, no sense?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Cox Orange, Aug 26, 2011.

  1. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    #1
    Hello,

    I got 4 SCSI drives for free. 2x Seagate Cheetah ST173404LCV 73GB Hard Drive, 10,000 rpm, 16 MB buffer, 80pol U160 SCSI, SCA and 2x IBM, 7200rpm DRHS-36 (confusing is, that the last 2 are described as 68pin and 80pin here http://www.netcomdirect.com/ibmdrul36367.html)

    I do not know, if they work, but I plan to keep one, if one works, in my PowerMac G4 AGP.

    The Mac seems to have a 68pin connector (I can only see 80pin connectors on the Drives), would it make sense to use an adapter? Or would that be totally dull? Would that work anyway?
    I would not do it for the speed only, but more to have a third drive on a seperate cable (I have one IDE on the IDE and one on an ATA-133-PCI-CARD).

    I found the SCSI-capabilities for PowerMacs here http://support.apple.com/kb/HT3074?viewlocale=de_DE
     
  2. macrumors 68020

    zen.state

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    #2
    The G4's never had built in SCSI so you must have the Adaptec PCI card.

    This may very well do the trick for you.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    #3
    Oh, I somehow misinterpreted the unused airport-slot for an SCSI-port (how awkward for me :eek: ).

    So, if I install an adaptec PCI card (I see them going for 1eur at ebay), will the overall speed on the PCI-busses drop? (I mean having one allready in use for the ATA-133 card). In other words will the IDE-PCI attached Drive and the SCSI-PCI attached card canibalize each other when used at the sam time?

    Plus will the konverter 80-68pin, drop the speed an additionally (versus using a 68pin drive directly attached)?
     
  4. macrumors 68020

    zen.state

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    #4
    PCI in the G4 towers tends to be quite good at balancing the overall bandwidth of the logic board PCI bus evenly between the expansion cards.

    I have one of those Adaptec SCSI cards you can have for free if you pay shipping. I will never use it. It's not worth enough to ask anything for it.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    #5
    That's very kind of you! But I live in Germany, so shipping cost would be a lot I guess, so I will get me one were I live, on ebay(dot)de for 1EUR plus domestic shipping (2-4EUR). But thank you, though! Really nice of you!
     
  6. macrumors 68020

    zen.state

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    #6
    No problem. Ebay would be cheaper yes. It would cost about $12-15 Canadian to ship it.
     

Share This Page