SCSI stopped working in OS X????

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by amnesiac1984, Jun 9, 2002.

  1. amnesiac1984 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2002
    Location:
    Europe
    #1
    Hey guys

    I have a Yamaha 2100 external SCSI CD Burner on my Beige G3 running X.1.5!
    About a week before X.1.5 was released my cd burner stopped working, It is no longer recognised by Toast or iTunes or discburner or even apple system profiler.
    The Apple system profiler no longer mentions anything related to scsi even existing on my system.

    The CD burner works perfectly under Mac OS 9 (although it is not supported by itunes or discburner in OS 9 but is in OS X)

    , it cannot be hardware realted because the burner and SCSI bus both work under OS 9!!
    If anyone has had similar problems or may know a solution I will be very greatful!
    Cheers
     
  2. Beej macrumors 68020

    Beej

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Buffy's bedroom
    #2
    Although I can't help, I have a little story that people might get a smile out of...

    I had an external Yamaha SCSI burner that blew a fuse... coset 20c to replace. A cheaper fix than most of my hadrware problems!

    But if it's working in OS 9, that won't be your problem. Have you installed RAM recently? Bad RAM can cause some very whacky things to happen.
     
  3. amnesiac1984 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2002
    Location:
    Europe
    #3
    no, not installed any RAM for about a year, at the same time as getting a G4/400 sonnet upgrade.

    i wonder if its some scsi support extensions or something that could have got corrupted somehow, its a shame that OS X is not as easy to fix as Mc OS 9
     
  4. amnesiac1984 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2002
    Location:
    Europe
    #4
    OMG IT WORKS

    sorry guys,

    after a week of it not working, it seems to work now. very weird, and very unmac like!!! i would expect this sort of behaviour from a PeeCee,..

    any way, i'm getting a DDR powermac as soon as they come out so i can wave goodbye to this old (untik now) trustworthy machine.

    i'll keep you posted if it stops working again
     

Share This Page