SE k750i and isnc

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by bodisaffa, May 30, 2005.

  1. bodisaffa macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    #1
    just bought brand new SE k750i does anybody know why its not isync compatible? is it likely to be isync compatible?? when will this be??? is there any 3rd party software simalar to isync?? i have had a total mare with isync and i have tried 3 of my own handsets and 3 of other peoples and can get one phone to sync!!!!! i have tried everything sometimes it connects to the handset but says isync cannot sync with this device any ideas???
     
  2. Applespider macrumors G4

    Applespider

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    looking through rose-tinted spectacles...
    #2
    It's a very, very new phone so it might not be supported yet. It's not on Apple's list . The good news is that it probably will be since Sony Ericssons tend to work pretty well with iSync.

    Something that might be worth trying is deleting the pairing from your Mac and the k750 (if you've managed to get it to pair). Then turn on the BT on both but use the phone to discover the Mac and pair. Then go to iSync and tell it to look for the phone. I had a brief problem with iSync with my k700 after the phone's firmware was updated in December and this resolved it.
     
  3. bodisaffa thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    #3
  4. Andy C macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Location:
    Farnborough, UK
    #4
    Using the files posted on the esato forum I can iSync the phone just fine, however I cannot send sms messages via the address book, nor do incoming messages appear on screen. The address book shows as "Connected <k750i>" so in theory it should work.

    Bodisaffa, can you use sms via the Mac as this is my only issue currently.
     
  5. bodisaffa thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    #5
    can you give me a quick run through of how to send an sms via address book??? its not something i think i would use but i wll give it a try for you, i have just looked in the address book and connected my phone but cant seem to find how to send an sms within address book????
     
  6. Andy C macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Location:
    Farnborough, UK
    #6
    Click on a name in the Address Book so you can see the details with phone numbers. Now click on the word "mobile" infront of the persons number and you'll get a menu with "SMS Message", "Dial with K750i" and "Large Type". Choose SMS Message, type something and click Send.

    Thanks for checking this, bodisaffa... much appreciated.


    A.
     
  7. bodisaffa thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    #7
    no good cant send sms or dial from address book i dont get any kind of error message but once i click send or dial nothing happens atall???

    as i say its not something i would use but its nice to know it works!! as you say it states that its connected to k750 so it should work.

    aside from this how are you finding the k750??
     
  8. Philsy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Location:
    South coast of England
    #8
    Hi, I'm about to buy a K750i to replace my T610 and assumed it would be fully Mac compatible. Sending texts via Address Book is so useful. Have you managed to get it to work yet?

    Cheers

    Phil
     
  9. bodisaffa thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    #9
    no still not working, with the info that i left it is possible to sync the phone however sms within address book still not working
     
  10. krollster macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #10
    K750i crashing mac mini

    When I connect my Vodafone live K750i by USB to my mac mini (running Tiger) it works OK for a while transferring files to the memory stick but then crashes the computer, requiring a restart. Anyone else got this issue??

    Also, when transferring files via bluetooth I have also managed to make the phone stop working until turning off BT on the mac.

    Tiger is just frustrating me at the moment because Panther used to run for a month without stopping. It seems Tiger requires a restart every other day....
     
  11. Philsy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Location:
    South coast of England
    #11
    Umm, this is miserable - I was planning on getting one any day now.

    Syncing apart, what do you think of the K750i?

    Cheers

    Phil
     
  12. krollster macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #12
    Overall I find the phone a big improvement on my old Samsung e710. Even with vodafone live it is a pleasure to use. There are too many good things to discuss, but some issues to consider are as follows:

    - Earpiece volume can't be cranked up high enough
    - No mp3 ringtones without repackaging audio using SE DRM software (PC) - although I haven't tried this.
    - Games I've downloaded from VF Live don't work yet (the engineers are apparently working on this).
    - The display scratches quite easily (mine was damaged in my pocket with no keys or coins...possibly only some grit)
    - Vodafone version has no free games...only demos.
    - Music player is nothing on an iPod, but it does the job (main prob is the headphones are awful)
    - If you charge it at night you can't use the radio for an alarm because it relies on the headphones as an antenna and they plug into the same bit as the charger.
    - Memory stick duo is expensive

    Anyway, that's a few bits of info that might be interesting to those considering getting this phone.
     
  13. pierre271 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    #13
    K750, Isync and Address book

    I bought the K750 two days ago. The phone is great. Isync (Mac OS 10.3.9) is ok now after that little work. Address book connected but SMS sending and dialling from the computer don't work. Too bad!! No solution yet?

    cheers

    pierre
     
  14. Loge macrumors 68020

    Loge

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Location:
    England
    #14
    This sort of thing is getting really annoying; a step backwards from my K700i. Is this just applicable to network branded phones, anyone know?
     
  15. Applespider macrumors G4

    Applespider

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    looking through rose-tinted spectacles...
    #15
    That one might be a vodaphone special since they did the same with mp3s for the k700. Orange changed several of the shortcut keys on the k700. I ended up with 02 who put a link to their O2 online service but not in such an obvious place that I can't avoid hitting it.

    The non-branded phone is fine. You can find out which network provider is cannabilising which SE phone by checking the forums at esato.com
     
  16. Loge macrumors 68020

    Loge

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Location:
    England
    #16
    Thanks for the link, I will do just that. I'm due a new phone soon, and I really don't want any "surprises" regarding functionality.
     
  17. krollster macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #17
    If you're already a VF customer and don't mind loosing a bit of functionality, choosing a branded K750 can be a good option...just make sure you don't follow their normal "upgrade" path (which is a rip-off).

    After I received my PAC code to move to another provider, VF customer retention rang me up and I was able to negotiate a very good deal out of them with the K750 for free. Anyway, the best bit was that I talked them down to a new 12 month contract rather than the 18 month one they were asking for. I guess the key is that you should stick to your guns and let them know what it's going to take for you to stay their customer.

    Word of warning: Not all of VF's customer retention people care about actually keeping customers so some of them might not be prepared to negotiate. Make sure you don't shoot yourself in the foot by being too unreasonable if you really want to stay with them. I didn't care either way so had nothing to loose.
     
  18. pdpfilms macrumors 68020

    pdpfilms

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Location:
    Vermontana
    #18
    Is there any reason the k750 might not be compatible with cingular?
     
  19. rekahs macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    #19


    i'm using tiger on my powerbook and have that problem.
    i got my phone from o2 and apart from that it works great.
    i can use any mp3 as a ringtone....no need to use sony's software.
    just annoying cos at the minute if i use usb to transfer i get the _TS (or whatever) files and my mac crashes as soon as i disconnect it, even if i leave it for ages after ejecting!
    apart from that it's an awesome phone....loved watching the incredibles, blow, the simpsons and south park on it.
     
  20. bodisaffa thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    #20
    You need to use bluetooth to send files mate its much easier and quicker, there seems to be a problem with the sony ericsson usb connection as mine crashes every time its unplugged too.
     
  21. drohr macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    #21
    I'm also having issues with sending sms through the addressbook.

    Everything is Paired up correctly, I even tried doing it again, to see if it helped, but no show.

    I can send and recieve files, also, syncing calendar and contacts works great with iSync.

    What doesn't work is sending SMS and recieving and making calls. When my phone rings, I do get a message up on the screen that an incoming call is here. But OSX can never guess what number is dialing, and when pressing the button to take the call, nothing happens. Even if I do take the call with my phone, my Mac still doesn't understand that I do allready have taken the call.

    Also, when sending sms, everything looks ok. But no SMS arrives on the other end.
     
  22. yoak macrumors 65816

    yoak

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    #22
    I have an ibook and I have no problem with crashes.
    Could it be something to do with the serviceprovider, I have read elswhere on this forum about people on vodaphone having problems.
    I still run Panther so Tiger might be another culprit.
    I´m really happy with my phone, mp3´s as ringtones no problem.
    SE phones seems to scratch easily, and that is annoying.
     
  23. MacMiniUser macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    #24
    i have a vodafone branded k750i and i can use any mp3's as a ringtone. also, it makes my mac mini kernel panic when i disconnect the usb too.
     
  24. javiercr macrumors 6502

    javiercr

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #25
    it is supported now
     

Share This Page