SECURITY: Bypass Lock Screen

Discussion in 'iOS 5 and earlier' started by Eavila, Oct 20, 2011.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    #1
    Here's what I'm getting, and it's already been reported:

    Summary: User can bypass the lock screen on the phone.

    Steps to Reproduce:
    1) Double click home button to get to camera shortcut from locked phone
    2) Select camera, and go to view images button
    From here you get the "Your iPhone is locked." screen
    3) Hit home button and you are directed to the home screen and phone is now unlocked
     
  2. macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #2
    I just followed those steps verbatim and it showed the passcode screen.

    Try setting your passcode to immediate.
     
  3. Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    #3
    Doesn't happen to me, but I have seen it reported elsewhere :confused:
     
  4. macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #4
    This is because people set the lock screen to activate after one minute or after 5 minutes.

    If you set it to activate after one or five minutes and do this of course it will happen because the lockscreen won't activate for one to five minutes.

    It's simple english.
     
  5. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #5
    goes to the lock screen for me....set your timeout to less.
     
  6. macrumors 68000

    r2shyyou

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Location:
    Paris, France
    #6
    There was a thread about this recently (can't find it at the moment) but what you've described is only possible when a user's Passcode Lock is set to be required after a specific amount of time, as opposed to immediately.

    For example, if your Passcode Lock is set to be required "Immediately", your steps above will not unlock the phone. However, if you've selected for your Passcode Lock to be required, say, "After 1 minute" and you lock your phone and try the steps above within that first minute, the phone will be unlocked.
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Stuipdboy1000

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Perth, Scotland, UK
    #7
    I managed to replicate this when I changed my passcode to "After 1 minute".

    Reported to Apple.
     
  8. Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #8
    Did you actually wait a full minute? I have mine set to 1 hour and it works exactly as it should.
     
  9. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #9
    Be careful...the lock time and the screen timeout are now two settings...I thought I had set my lock time to 1 min, but I actually set the screen timeout to 1 min, the lock time was 15 mins. Once I changed the lock time to 1 min it now works. In order to properly test this "problem" make sure you can slide to unlock and go to the passcode entry. If you can, hit cancel...then try this...it will go to the lock screen.
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    Stuipdboy1000

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Perth, Scotland, UK
    #10
    Oops, no. Waiting a full minute or more seems to take you back to the lock screen.

    However, I think this works as long as you're in the period of the lock time. I set it to one hour and managed to get to my home screen even though I was told in the camera app my phone was locked.
     
  11. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #11
    Thats because the phone is locked.....just not password protected. If you were to slide to unlock it would have unlocked without asking for a password too.
     
  12. macrumors 6502a

    Stuipdboy1000

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Perth, Scotland, UK
    #12
    Never mind. I seem to have got my understanding of the situation wrong.
     
  13. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    #13
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A334 Safari/7534.48.3)

    Dare I say your username seems very appropriate then? Lol
     
  14. macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #14
    What part of AFTER one minute or AFTER five minutes don't people understand ?

    :confused:
     

Share This Page