Sell Dual 2.0 PowerMac and get mini?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by believo, Jun 9, 2005.

1. believo macrumors regular

May 21, 2004
    Los Angeles, CA
    I'm a graphic designer and I bought a Dual 2.0 PowerMac Rev. B about 6 months ago; however, with the recent intel announcements and the fact that I don't neccessarily need all the powermac speed, I'm considering selling my PowerMac and getting a mini. Is this a good idea or bad idea? How much do you think I could get for it?

Here's my specs:

PowerMac Dual 2.0 (Rev. B)
    1.5 GB RAM (8 slots total, 4 slots filled)
    160 GB Hard Drive
    8X SuperDrive
    GeForce FX 5200
    Everything is pretty standard
  2. shadowmoses macrumors 68000

Mar 6, 2005
    If you utilise the power and storage space of the powermac then stick with it. Otherwise cash in and buy a Mini as there is no point having a machine that powerful if it isnt being used to its potential.

So basically if the Mini will do the job go ahead and downgrade.

ShadOW :p
  3. mad jew Moderator emeritus

mad jew

Apr 3, 2004
    Adelaide, Australia
    I disagree. The Power Mac is much more future-proof so it is much more likely to be able to carry you effortlessly through until the Intel macs come out. Unless you really need money at the moment, I'd say stick with what you've got. :)
  4. hhlee macrumors 6502

May 19, 2005
    I've been thinking hard about trading in my dual 2 for a mini since I am in a similar situation. Aside from having to move (and its such a beast to move) I think I'm going to stick with it. It is a darn speedy machine and it will last a lot longer than the mini. However, if you want to be the first to switch to the Intel based macs and you don't mind sacrificing the time for the next two years of the mini's slower performance...then go ahead.
  5. Cooknn macrumors 68020

Aug 23, 2003
    Fort Myers, FL
    Bad idea. For Graphic Design you have the right box.