Sell PB and buy Mac Mini/Apple Display

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by glay, Jan 15, 2005.

1. glay macrumors member

Sep 1, 2004
    Hi everyone!
    I need some advice. I am currently using a 12" PB 1.33 Combo, I was thinking of selling it and getting a 20" Apple Display and 1.42 80Gb Mac Mini.
    What do you guys think?
    Initially I bought the laptop but I never seem to take it out of my house. I do use it around the house though.
    Will the Apple Displays be updated soon? As in the style of them? And do they have a good resell price? With the recent price drop in them I am thinking that they might be outdated by a newer series of Apple Displays? Sorry, I am an Apple newbie and I do not know much about this. Thanks alot!
    Take Care! :)
  2. illustratorDavi macrumors 6502

Jun 7, 2004
    North Yorkshire
    Hi Glay

I can't see the displays being changed this year. I think they have just reduced the price to make them competitive, also apparently the inside LCD prices have shot down recently.

I'm not sure if you'll notice a speed distance with the mini mac. For all I know the motherboard could be based on an ibook.

All i know is that the mini mac is a great idea. Personally I'm considering one as a step up from my imac G4. Its compact size means that i can also use it in my school workshops. The main disadvantage is the lack of G5 (so no 64bit) and the lack of memory - although they are likely to be 2Gb memory cards available soon, at least when the warranty ends.

3. Chip NoVaMac macrumors G3

Chip NoVaMac

Dec 25, 2003
    Northern Virginia
    Why not just get a 20" monitor and run the PB in clamshell mode?
  4. Rod Rod macrumors 68020

Rod Rod

Sep 21, 2003
    Las Vegas, NV
    It's very likely glay would have to sell the PB in order to have the funds for the display and Mac mini.