Semi-transparent menu bar is gone in Lion?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by nanotlj, Jul 28, 2011.

  1. nanotlj, Jul 28, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2011

    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #1
    Since my first use of lions a couple of days ago, I always feel something is weird for Lion desktop but I can not tell why. Now I figure out it is the menu bar. The semi-transparency is gone and I can not find the option usually sitting in the Desktop system preferences! Why, apple? Why suddenly take something way without an option after I get used to the semi-transparent menu-bar?
     
  2. Jakerz, Jul 28, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 28, 2011

    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Location:
    Atlanta
  3. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    Terra
    #3
    As Jakerz pointed out, it's still there.

    Mine never went away, so it's possible you or someone else (if it's a multi-person Mac) accidentally unchecked the feature.
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    #4
    It was one of the most hideous things Snow Leopard brought, and was extremely happy when they introduced the option to "solidify" it in 10.6.3/4 or so.

    And I was happy Lion kept my menu bar solid..
     
  5. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #5
    Weird. That option is missing in my Desktop system preferences.
    I am running Lion inside Vmware fusion on my macbook air (10.6.7). I am not sure if that is the reason.
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    ratzzo

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Location:
    Madrid
    #6
    Well, that option is there for me, lol.
     
  7. FSMBP, Jul 28, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2011

    macrumors 68020

    FSMBP

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    #7
    Actually, it was brought in on 10.5 Leopard. And the "solidify" was in 10.5.2. Sorry, Apple nerd moment.
     
  8. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    #8
    Actually, a bug in translucent menu bar in Lion...

    ...I discovered that my Nature-themed current desktop on the iMac (they change every 5 minutes) had a particularly washed-out translucent menubar. I went to System Preferences for Desktop and Screensaver and toggled (twice) the above-discussed checkbox. That restored a properly more translucent menubar. A bug, right?
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    blackburn

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Location:
    Where Judas lost it's boots.
    #9
    I think that's the reason. I don't think that os x supports graphical accelerated stuff under virtual machines. Like when your running os x on an hackintosh without graphical driver support.
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    bdodds1985

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Location:
    Tartarus
    #10
    I have noticed a bug as well, sometimes it seem like the menu bar doesnt change with the background. i have mine set to change every 15 minutes and when I enable the translucent menu bar, it gets stuck on whatever picture is first. annoying.

    also, I downloaded the obsidian menu bar. I love it, except.... the date & time are not visible and you have to download a secondary app for that. the battery does show but the percent/time do not.
     
  11. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    #11
    People using VMWare Fusion may experience some problems because of the lack of drivers. The option to solidify the menu bar should be there for all Macs.
     

Share This Page