sense buy macbook now?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by macfriend1, Mar 14, 2007.

1. macfriend1 macrumors regular

hello everyone.

I'm a student. Unfortunately, like everybody else, I have not that much money left. For my studies I'll need a macbook in summer 07.
    The leopard is coming in April.

does it make sense to buy a macbook now? Better wait till april and then buy a book with the new software and maybe better hardware for the same money?!
    The problem is, I could buy a macbook right now. muchmuch cheaper than normal price. it would only contain the old tigersystem, which is not that good. but I heard that the upgrade won't cost a lot.

Actually, I have no idea what to do. I'm not an expert and I haven't used mac a long time before.
    thanks for your help

2. furious macrumors 65816

furious

Tiger is awesome. How is it no to good?

It does make sense to buy a Macbook now if you need it. It does not make sense if you need it right before or after April.

3. macfriend1 thread starter macrumors regular

true.
    but I wanna have e.g this iSight thing in my book. there were rumours that new macbookversion won't contain a webcam.
    tiger is awesome. but isn't it better to buy a book with a new system?

4. nazmac21 macrumors 6502a

nazmac21

Here is what I recommend: buy a refurbished MacBook and use it until Penryn. Sell the MacBook you got and buy a Penryn MacBook.

5. macfriend1 thread starter macrumors regular

penryn MacBook?

6. nazmac21 macrumors 6502a

nazmac21

A processor chip from Intel scheduled to be released late 2007 (after the 2nd Generation Intel Core 2 Duo).

7. macfriend1 thread starter macrumors regular

ok. thanks. back to the question.
    does it make sense?

8. Multimedia macrumors 603

Multimedia

Wait 'til Summer refresh - Leopard Santa Rosa iLife '07