Serious Help Needed for My Powerbook

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Wadget, Jun 11, 2006.

  1. Wadget macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    #1
    Hey all, i hope this is the right forum to post this.

    This is the story, it's kinda involved;

    The internet on my PowerBook G3 OS 9.2 wasn't working properly so i was experimenting with the settings to see if that would help. I opened up "startup disk" in which you can restart disks and the like. In Startup Disk was something called "Network Disk" I chose to restart that to see if it would help. I pressed restart and a window popped up saying restarting the network disk may take a few minutes longer than normal restart. I clicked OK and the computer restarted.

    This is where i encountered the problem, instead of restarting normally the computer instead just runs the loading screen for hours on end.

    This screen:
    [​IMG]

    I tried holding down option key while rebooting and the same thing happens. I've zapped the pram and it's still just loads on that screen.

    I left it restarting all night and in the morning it was still loading that screen.

    Can anybody suggest what might be wrong and how to fix this? I really need help on this.

    Thanks.
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    Unplug any network cables and then try booting whilst holding OPTION again. If you still don't get anywhere, insert the OSX discs and boot holding C. :)
     
  3. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #3
    Hold the option key down for a LONG time, and once it starts displaying the available drive, be prepared to wait 10 minutes or more until it finishes doing the round and round thing. Do not restart it assuming it is frozen. It is just trying 1 million times over to find the network startup disk you told it to use.
     
  4. Wadget thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    #4
    Should i do this with the network cable plugged in or not?

    P.S And how long approximately should i hold the option key down for?
     
  5. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #5
    Not.

    Hold it until the screen changes to the screen that gives you the option of which drives to boot from. Then you can release it, go have a coffee and let it finish spinning. When it is good and done, re-select your hard drive as the boot device, and proceed.
     
  6. Wadget thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    #6
    I held done the option key for a long time and i never encountered a screen that gives me the option of which drive to boot from. It just goes straight to that round and round screen.

    I also tried installing from a OS X cd and something very odd happened. I'll post a picture soon because i can't really explain it.

    Thanks for helping though.
     

Share This Page