Serious Mac Pro Problems

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Speakone, Sep 23, 2006.

  1. Speakone macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    #1
    Ok I've been looking around on the forum, and haven't found an answer to this.

    I recieved my mac pro about 5 days ago and immediately begin moving music over to the new system and installing all my major programs (final cut, maya, photoshop...) The first and second day everything seemed fine. On the 3rd while I was surfing the net, the computer up and restarts for no reason, I thought, "strange" but didn't think anything of it. I believe that day I installed the new firmware, but the restart thing didn't happen again that day. 4th day the computer restarts itself agian and another time forces itself to sleepmode and can't get out. Both these things were fixed but just restarting the computer.

    Honestly I just figured the comp was a little buggy and I could wait it out until apple sets up a new update. but yesterday I installed a new seagate 320gig harddrive and put windows xp pro on with the new bootcamp. Installing windows went fine and even the drivers disk went fine.I go back to windows to start setting up my dispay settings and after about a few minutes in windows the computer restarts itself again, except this time it doesn't start back up. No start up chime, just a light on and fans. I'm totally freakin out about this time. I've reset the SMC, done every type of keyboard button combo on start up possible, reseated RAM, and harddrives, and restarted with just each harddrive, nothing works! Just lights and fan.

    Anyone have any possible solution before I sit on the phone with apple for a week?
     
  2. Origin macrumors regular

    Origin

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Location:
    Nantes, France
    #2
    I think it's an hardware issue .... :(
    Maybe faulty ram, you'd better call AppleCare :/
     
  3. danny_w macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #3
    I assume you've already checked things like reseating the RAM and cards, since they can get jostled in transit. If so and still no luck, I would call Apple.
     
  4. Speakone thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    #4
    I broke down n called apple today, they took me through a ton of tests and resets, and finally told me that I would have to send back the comp. But after finding that I purchased it from Amazon, they said I would have to go through them to replace it. Long story short, Amazon will be sending Fedex to pick up my system and sending me a new one, hopefully ASAP......Sucks tho cause i did a ton of animation work on the Mac Pro already. I'm going to seriously try to somehow talk them into letting me keep my start up disk, or maybe buy it at a discounted price?
     
  5. thadgarrison macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    #5
    Why not just buy a cheap external firewire drive? I got a 250GB one from Lacie for $150.00 last weekend - because i had to return my Mac for servicing and needed an emergency backup. Then, once you're up and running, you'll always have it for external backups.
     

Share This Page