Server connect question

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by cleo, May 13, 2002.

  1. cleo macrumors 65816

    cleo

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Tampa Bay Area, FL, USA
    #1
    When I connect to one of the Windows machines in the house from OS X, I just have to use the computer name and folder (smb://livingroom/public/). It there way to do this for the other OS X machines instead of typing in the IP addresses (which change occasionally)? I'd like to be able to bookmark the hard drive of my iBook without having to make sure the IP is correct.
     
  2. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #2
    Have you tried AFP?

    Appleshare names should work for you.
     
  3. cleo thread starter macrumors 65816

    cleo

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Tampa Bay Area, FL, USA
    #3
    sweet

    do you know the syntax? i'm guessing something along the lines of afp://ibook/ should work? i'll mess around with it when i get home - thanks for the tip!
     
  4. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #4
    Yup...afp://computername should work for you.

    Make sure you've turned on AppleTalk in the Network tab of System Prefs first...
     
  5. Backtothemac macrumors 601

    Backtothemac

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    Location:
    San Destin Florida
    #5
    Nope, syntax is wrong.

    Ex:

    it is
    smb://workgroup;server/share

    You would change workgroup to the name of your workgroup, and server to the name of your server. Share would be the folder that you are wanting to connect to.

    To do, go to go, connect to server, and choose the above.
    Hope that helps.
     
  6. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #6
    smb://computername/sharename works for me...so there! :p
     
  7. cleo thread starter macrumors 65816

    cleo

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Tampa Bay Area, FL, USA
    #7
    afp://computername/ doesn't work for me, appletalk on both machines turned on... any other thoughts?
     
  8. Backtothemac macrumors 601

    Backtothemac

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    Location:
    San Destin Florida
    #8
    Cleo.

    do
    smb://workgroupname;servername/foldername

    Rower. Don't know what your doing that I am. Are you doing smb or afp?
     
  9. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #9
    Browse your Appletalk network to see the computers...you are on a local network, right?

    B2TM- I'm using smb...I just type smb://pc/SharedDocs to log into my PC.
     

Share This Page