Server Info

Discussion in 'Site and Forum Feedback' started by andrewsimm, Sep 10, 2013.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    #1
    I run a pretty big message board and was curious to what hardware it takes to keep up a site like macrumors?
     
  2. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    My initial thought:

    Caching servers, e.g. varnish
    CDN to host static assets
    Powerful DB/MySQL Servers (optimised)
    Somewhat powerful HTTP servers

    Potentially even load balancers.
     
  3. arn
    macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #3
    At the moment, we are running on two dedicated PHP servers and a dedicated Master and Slave MySQL server.

    We ran into limits today, and haven't really reassessed our infrastructure in a while. So we are looking into this, to try to make it more efficient.

    We do use a CDN, use Varnish for the front page. Varnish on the forums is a little trickier, because it affects user counts which everyone loves.

    arn
     
  4. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    #4
    Good to know. How do you keep the data files on the 2 servers synced up?
     
  5. arn
    macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #5
    the two PHP servers share the mysql database and a remote NFS mount for attachments.

    arn
     
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    #6
    I see, that makes sense. Do you have issues on big days like yesterday with users posting as soon as an announcement hits?

    I run a college football board and on NSD we had 2,000 last year and the site went down when an announcement came because everyone decided to respond as soon as it came down. I should be good this year as I have invested in upgrades and optimization.

    Thank for the info!
     
  7. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    Do they share the MySQL database in failover / round robin config?
     

Share This Page