server upgrade

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by etsi, Jul 26, 2012.

  1. etsi
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    #1
    If I upgrade from lion server to mountain lion will delete the server app? Is there a way to upgrade to mountain lion and get rid of anything related to "server os" ?
     
  2. qCzar
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Location:
    SFBA, CA
    #2
    When I update I'll let you know. I've read that the current Server App on Lion will not run in Mountain Lion, but it doesn't look like you're forced to purchase the 10.8 Server App. I've bought an extra iTunes card just in case and will return it if I don't need it.

    If you make the jump before me (likely on Sunday) can you inform me what the result was?
     
  3. kcwjr
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Location:
    Santa Fe, NM
    #3
    Server upgrade

    I upgraded. The Server App under Lion ends up with a ?. The Server App is included in OSX Server update. Hope that helps.
     
  4. crose01
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    crose01

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    #4
    Does it retain your Server Settings

    When you installed ML Server did it retain your old server configuration?

    I'm doing a remote install and don't want to reconfigure everything especially the VPN
     
  5. Alameda
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Alameda

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    #5
    Is there really anything to gain from such an upgrade?
     
  6. etsi
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    #6
    The server app icon remains but you can't run it anymore.

    "You can’t open the application “Server” because it is not supported on this type of Mac."

    Software OS X 10.8 , the server tag gone.
     
  7. dyn
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Location:
    .nl
    #7
    If you want to admin the Lion Server you need to do that on the Lion Server itself thus requiring you to remote control the machine (via ssh or via vnc/ard or something).
     

Share This Page