Server

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by Nicolasdec, Mar 19, 2007.

  1. Nicolasdec macrumors 65816

    Nicolasdec

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Location:
    São Paulo
    #1
    Is there any way I can turn my PC into a web server? Basically what I wanna do is to use my old PC as a server for web sites im makeing? then i wouldent have to pay a company for the hosting it whould be hosted on my pc.
     
  2. exboroboy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    #2
    The first thing you need is a fixed ip address then you can go from there
     
  3. Nicolasdec thread starter macrumors 65816

    Nicolasdec

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Location:
    São Paulo
    #3
    yup ive got a fixed ip, now what.
     
  4. timmillwood macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    #4
    Get a really fast internet connect, with a min upload speed of 2mb

    then install apache and anything else you may need (eg php and mysql)

    you can run it on a normal home internet connection but the upload is only 400k with is far too slow when people want to download it at 2mb or faster they will be limited to the 400k you are uploading it at.

    the best way to get a fast upload is to use SDSL http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Symmetric_Digital_Subscriber_Line
     
  5. cwedl macrumors 65816

    cwedl

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    #5
    You need a fixed external ipaddress, get a domain name and point it to the ip address. you need iss installed on your machine
     
  6. RedTomato macrumors 68040

    RedTomato

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Location:
    .. London ..
    #6
    400k is perfectly fine for your beginner websites. I doubt that thousands will b e flocking to your giant multiple-gigabyte sites.

    It is a lot of hassle to set up a home server, and you seem to not know what you're doing. Don't let that stop you, just use what you have, even if it's a dial-up only connection.

    If trying to set up your home server is distracting you from the real work of creating website, then I suggest you try one of the many free website hosts out there, that are suitable for experimentation.

    By the time you are getting enough visitors to max out your home connection, whether thats ADSL or Cable, it may be time to pay a few dollars per year for hosting. That's far cheaper that paying for a professional SDL connection. A years decent hosting would cost less than a months worth of that.

    Most people set up a few basic sites then realise its not for them. Nothing wrong with that, always good to learn new stuff, but better not to get stuck with paying for a year of high speed internet connection.
     
  7. pengu macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Diddily Daddily...
    #7
    International Space Station?

    i assume you meant IIS (internet information server).

    but NO. he does not want IIS. if nothing else IIS is a HUGE security risk. ideally, get BSD or Linux on it and go from there.

    if not, go for Apache2 on windows.
     
  8. rogersmj macrumors 68020

    rogersmj

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    #8
    ^ Amen to that. Anyone recommending ISS needs to get two things straight:

    1. Windows sucks as a server.
    2. If you must use Windows, use Apache2, not ISS.

    I use a Linux server in my home as a testbed for my web sites, that I can access from anywhere if necessary. I use Ubuntu server which is very easy to setup -- there are tons of guides and community documentation if you need it.
     
  9. RedTomato macrumors 68040

    RedTomato

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Location:
    .. London ..
    #9
    yes, if you use your PC as a server, don't use windows!

    Use Ubuntu or something like that.

    Or even try serving via OSX.

    I have an old Powermac G3 that I used to use as a webserver last year. Worked wonderfully. (I had frustrations when trying to use it as a FTP server, but you're not doing that.)

    You can get them free or for $50. Runs fine on Panther or Tiger, try to get at least 512MB RAM, but they use cheap PC100 ramsticks. Doesn't matter how small the HD is.

    One other big no-no about serving from home is it requires the computer to be on and active 24/7. Your electricity bills will shoot right up. That's partly why I no longer use my G3 as a server. It was useful to learn on tho.
     
  10. Nicolasdec thread starter macrumors 65816

    Nicolasdec

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Location:
    São Paulo
    #10
    I will use my old powerbook, what programs do i need?
     
  11. RedTomato macrumors 68040

    RedTomato

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Location:
    .. London ..
    #11
    None!

    Apache is already installed :)

    Go to System Preferences, Sharing, Services, and turn on Personal Web Sharing. That turns on Apache.

    Drop your website (index.html etc) into the right folder and you're away.

    One thing to watch out for is that you are serving a minimum of TWO websites.

    There's your account's personal website, and webpages you put in your Sites folder (in your home folder) can be browsed at http://your.computer.address/~yourusername/ on your local network (at home)


    The OTHER website is your computer's website, and lives in HD (top level)/Library/WebServer/Documents

    you can look at it at http://your.computer.address

    Need to set your network modem/ router/ firewall to pass through / send web requests to your powerbook if you want the sites to be visible on the wider internet.

     
  12. Anonymous Freak macrumors 601

    Anonymous Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Cascadia
    #12
    And if you have a static IP or no, look into a "Dynamic DNS" provider. You install a piece of software on your computer, and you get a domain name like "mydomain.dyndns.org" that is constantly pointing to your home IP address, even if it is dynamic and changes.

    I host a family-use website (calendars and the like) on my home server (B&W G3 upgraded to G4 with Tiger,) this way.
     

Share This Page