Seti@home for Mac OS 8.6 ?

Discussion in 'Distributed Computing' started by joecool85, Jun 15, 2005.

  1. joecool85 macrumors 65816

    joecool85

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Location:
    Maine
    #1
    Does it exist? If so, can someone give me a link? I'm getting a 233mhz G3 PM and want to put it to work.
     
  2. dubbz macrumors 68020

    dubbz

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    Alta, Norway
    #2
    There's no version for 8.6. You'll need OS X.

    Edit: There's a client for Linux/PPC, but it required a G4 or better.

    Edit2: Actually, I found one. SETI@Home X.
    Requirements: PowerPC, System 7.5.5
     
  3. Dane D. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Location:
    ohio
    #3
    It works in OS 8.6


    For a baseline I installed and ran it under OS 8.6 on a 8600/200 PPC. This computer did nothing but crunch for 72 hrs to complete one work unit. So it does work, just real slooow. By the way, your 233 Mhz will take about 24 - 26 hrs to complete a unit. I have a B/W G3/300 that takes 22 - 24 hrs per unit. I also run two G4/450 that are crunching for 12 -14 hrs per unit. My son runs a eMac 1.25 Ghz take crunches a unit in about 7 - 8 hrs. An observation, I think SETI runs better in OS X than OS 9, slightly faster I think. Try it, the worst that can happen is it won't work but try it. My 2 cents.
     
  4. joecool85 thread starter macrumors 65816

    joecool85

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Location:
    Maine
    #4
    My 867 mhz G4 PB takes 15 hours to crunch a unit....I thought that was decent, but if your 450mhz G4's are crunching a unit at 12-14 hrs that would make my PB really slow. huh. And yes, I have it at maximum processor.
     
  5. Dane D. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Location:
    ohio
    #5
    Use blank screen mode when possible

    Those 2 G4/450's run SETI in blank screen mode and do nothing else that is why they can complete units faster.
     

Share This Page