Setting changed in safari after iLife '04 install!!!

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by ComputerWizard, Jan 25, 2004.

  1. ComputerWizard macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #1
    I installed iLife '04 and after the install ( at least I think that the problem arose from installing iLife '04) safari no longer automatically puts the <www.> and <.com> if I type in a web address into the address bar. For example before I installed iLife, if I typed into the address bar - macrurmors, it would take a second to think and then automatically go to http://www.macrumors.com. Now when I try to type in macrumors, it just tries to go to http://macrumors/ and goes to the Search The Web website. I have a 1.25Ghz Powerbook AL. This problem also happened on my dads new dual 1.8Ghz G5. I have looked all over for a solution, and have found no mention of this anywhere. Any help would be appreciated.
    Edit:spelling.
     
  2. iJon macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #2
    no problems here, dont know what else to try cause i always type www and .com anyways.

    iJon
     
  3. ComputerWizard thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #3
    Thanks for responding so quickly. I always type www and .com also, but my dad is a recent switcher and is used to the control-enter in internet explorer in windows that automatically puts www. and .com into the address bar. I showed him that on the mac it automatically put it there, but after the update it suddently stopped working. What happens when you don't put in the www. and .com? Do you have iLife '04 installed?
     
  4. snickelfritz macrumors 65816

    snickelfritz

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Location:
    Tucson AZ
    #4
    I still get "www." appended when typing keywords into the addressbar in Safari, after installing iLife '04.
     
  5. jxyama macrumors 68040

    jxyama

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    #5
    it may have just cleaned up safari's cache/history somehow. i don't think it's directly connected to iLife installation.

    just type www.macrumors.com and macrumors.com and pull up those pages. the next time, safari should remember those settings and fill in the rest when you type "www.mac..." or "macru..."
     
  6. ComputerWizard thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #6
    I guess it's probably not from installing iLife '04, but do you have any idea what it could be from? Cause I'm stumped on this one. I tried to delete the preference files for Safari and the internet and still the same thing happened. Where could a setting like this be stored?
     
  7. ComputerWizard thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #7
    I tried that, but it just goes straight to the search page. I first typed in www.macrumors.com, and then macrumors.com, and they both work. But still afterwards when I just type macrumors, it doesn't complete the address unless I wait a second for it to show it as autocomplete in the address bar. It used to be able to just automatically go to the website even if I haven't been to the website before. What it would do was after I typed macrumors (for example) it would take a second and then automatically it would put the www. and the .com into the address bar. And if it was a website that had a different extension like .net or .co.uk then it would just go to the search page. It only worked with websites that had www. and .com in them.
     
  8. Counterfit macrumors G3

    Counterfit

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    sitting on your shoulder
    #8
    This is going to be a very basic question, but I always ask them, because it's very easy to overlook the basic/obvious stuff even when you know what you're doing (or at least think you do :D ). Have you checked the preferences to make the appropriate boxes are checked?
     
  9. ComputerWizard thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #9
    Yes, I have checked all of the settings that I could find for the internet and safari, but I couldn't find a setting to change this.
     
  10. Counterfit macrumors G3

    Counterfit

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    sitting on your shoulder
  11. Dale Sorel macrumors 6502a

    Dale Sorel

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    #11
    Way back when, I had something called Privoxy installed and it wiped out Safari's adding the www. and .com. Maybe you have something similar installed?
     
  12. Kingsnapped macrumors 6502a

    Kingsnapped

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #12
    Although I never used this feature, I was able to successfully type "fark" and wind up at http://www.fark.com/

    Thanks for the tip :rolleyes:
     
  13. ComputerWizard thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #13
    I don't have that program installed or know what that program is. But I have no idea which program could have caused this.
     
  14. ComputerWizard thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #14
    Yourwelcome. Now I just wish that mine would start working again. :(
     
  15. ComputerWizard thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #15
    I called up a guy at the apple store, and he said that he had no idea what I was talking about. He didn't know that it should automatically put www. and .com into the address bar.
     
  16. Counterfit macrumors G3

    Counterfit

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    sitting on your shoulder
    #16
    Try reinstalling Safari from the Panther disks.
     
  17. ComputerWizard thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #17
    I looked on the panther disks, but couldn't find any way to re-install safari. How do you re-install safari?
     
  18. Counterfit macrumors G3

    Counterfit

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    sitting on your shoulder
    #18
    you need to grab Pacifist off of VersionTracker or MacUpdate. Then follow those instructions.
     
  19. ComputerWizard thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #19
    I tried using Pacifist to install safari, but it didn't work. Since everything else in Safari is working, mabye its best that I just leave it alone. Thanks for all of your help.
     
  20. ComputerWizard thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #21
    It automatically started working again today!!! This is so weird. After I installed safari 1.2 and java 1.4.2 it still didn't work. But, now all of a sudden it started to work. Very strange.
     

Share This Page