Setting up a Function key to open mac mail?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by selva, Feb 12, 2011.

  1. selva, Feb 12, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2011

    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    #1
    Is there any way to set up a function key say F5 button on my MBA to open up Mac Mail?

    F5 does not seem to be assigned to anything in default it seems.
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    impulse462

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #2
    I think you would have to write/set up an applescript of some sort, if it is at all possible.

    I am not familiar with that process so someone else might be better at assisting you.
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    #3
    Settings > Keyboard > Keyboard Shortcuts > Application Shortcuts (click the +) and setup F5 for Mail.
     
  4. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    #4
    not sure what your needs are...but another cool thing you could do that might be useful for you is to set it to "open at login"
     
  5. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    #5
    Thanks very much for the suggestions. Unfortunately the Settings > Keyboard > Keyboard Shortcuts > Application Shortcuts suggestion did not work. I think I will probably end up getting one of the commercial app launchers such as Alfred.
     
  6. macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #6
    I would use Quicksilver. It's far more extensible and open source. And it's one of the o. g. application launchers that inspired features in just about every other application launcher out now.
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    GekkePrutser

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #7
    If you set up a function key as a shortcut, try pressing it with 'fn' pressed as well. That should work.

    If that works, you can turn off the requirement to press 'fn' somewhere on the Keyboard preferences (I don't have a portable Mac to hand so can't check it) but it means you'll have to press 'fn' every time you want to change the brightness, volume, etc.
     

Share This Page