Setting up a Static IP adress

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by ntsapp3, Feb 16, 2007.

  1. ntsapp3, Feb 16, 2007
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2012
  2. ElectricSheep macrumors 6502

    ElectricSheep

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Location:
    Wilmington, DE
    #2
    If your gateway/router supports DNS forwarding, you can just put its address in the "DNS Servers" field.
     
  3. ntsapp3, Feb 16, 2007
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2012

    ntsapp3 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
  4. Xander562 macrumors 68000

    Xander562

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
  5. ElectricSheep macrumors 6502

    ElectricSheep

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Location:
    Wilmington, DE
    #5
    Just put in the address of the router in the field "DNS Servers". If you can surf the web, your router supports DNS forwarding. If you can't, your router doesn't.

    No, dyndns is something else. DNS Forwarding is when your router forwards any domain name lookups to your's IPSs DNS servers.
     
  6. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #6
    Wait, are you talking about setting up a external static IP? Or an internal? because that changes many things...
     

Share This Page