Setting up different network locations?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by dcv, Jul 29, 2005.

  1. dcv macrumors G3

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    #1
    Is there a way to do this....?

    I usually just use my PowerBook at home, so it's connected via Airport to my wireless network using my home broadband settings. My mail program is set up to use the pop3 server of my email provider for incoming mail, and the smtp server of my broadband provider for outgoing mail (my ISP doesn't provide my mail account).

    So... if i take my powerbook round to someone else's house i have to manually switch my settings to pick up a different wireless network, or connect via dial-up etc. Not too much of a problem. But - if i wanted to send email I'd also have to change the settings of my mail account to use the smtp server of their ISP.

    I'm assuming that you can use "Network Preferences" to set up different locations (e.g. for different people's houses) to default to the wifi/dial-up connection etc, but is there a way to link the mail server settings to this?
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2

    From the System Preferences, go to the Network section and from the "Location" drop down menu, simply select "Make new".




    I didn't think this was necessary. I know I can send email from my email account (an ISP-based account) from different locations that don't use my ISP for their internet.
     
  3. dcv thread starter macrumors G3

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    #3
    That's odd... mine doesn't work like that :(
    I just tried this out - i turned off my airport and disconnected my adsl modem/router. Dialled up to my email provider's pay-as-you-go number and could receive mail but not send, because the smtp settings are incorrect. So this is effectively mimicking what would happen if i were at someone else's house using a different ISP.

    I've looked at the location - network preferences and whilst i can see that i'd be able to set up different dial-up or airport preferences, i'm still not sure that it could switch mail settings as easily.
     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4

    Strange. Well, you should be able to add SMTP server settings to your email client. What are you using? I know that Mail is pretty easy to set up like this, just add a few more settings to the "accounts" part in the preferences and then when you want to send from a different location you can just select it from a drop down list. But it sounds like you're not using Mail.
     
  5. dcv thread starter macrumors G3

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    #5
    Yes i'm using Mail (2.0.2)

    I think you're right, i'll have to also set up different accounts and switch between them. I was just hoping there was a clever way to combine the network location switching with the mail server switching. Perhaps i should look at Automator to combine these actions (not used that yet, i'm still new(ish) to mac!)

    anyway thank you for your help :)
     

Share This Page