Setting Up iChat Account

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Squire, Mar 5, 2004.

  1. Squire macrumors 68000

    Squire

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Location:
    Canada
    #1
    I'm thinking about getting an iSight and having my parents start using iChat AV. (That way, they'll be able to communicate with their grandkids.) However, when I view the "getting started" section of iChat Help, I get the following message:

    You need an instant messaging address, also known as a "screen name," to use with iChat AV. If you already have a .Mac membership, you simply use your Mac.com email address. If you don't have a Mac.com address, visit the .Mac website to sign up. Or, if you have an AOL or AIM screen name, use it instead. You can't use screen names from other instant messaging systems, such as MSN or Yahoo, with iChat AV.

    My parents have neither a .Mac membership nor an AIM screen name. Does that mean that they'd have to get .Mac in order to use iChat or does Panther provide the user with an AIM account?

    Oh, one more thing...they have dial-up. iChat AV would be next to useless with a dial-up connection, correct? I've been trying to convince them to make the leap to high-speed Internet but my Dad (one step below "novice computer user") is worried about screwing up the install process. Correct me if I'm wrong, but all he'd have to do is plug the cable into the back of the machine, right? There's no configuring or anything to do, is there? Isn't that one of the beauties of having a Mac?

    Do any of you use iChat AV to keep in touch with family members on the other side of the world? Are there any other problems you can think about?

    Thanks,

    Squire
     
  2. Grimace macrumors 68040

    Grimace

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    with Hamburglar.
    #2
    http://www.aim.com/

    On the left side - go to For Your Computer
    Pick an OS

    Then - "NEW USERS CLICK HERE"

    you'll pick a name and you're set. Free
     
  3. Grimace macrumors 68040

    Grimace

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    with Hamburglar.
    #3
    I chat (hehe, ichat) with friends on many continents. Those with iSights are even more fun.

    Note: iChat is just a way to use your pre-existing AOL, AIM account name or .Mac name. there are other services that let you even use pre-existing Yahoo screen names too.
     
  4. janey macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #4
    you NEED a high speed internet connection to videochat.

    Mind you, its a little more than plugging in a cable, but some ISPs will have entire tutorials in print/CD to make it as easy as possible, understanding that not everyone is good with computers. I know my ISP could probably walk me through it (SBC yahoo, they had a good deal :p).
    Plus, DSL starts at around $26 a month, about as cheap as AOL dialup.
     
  5. Squire thread starter macrumors 68000

    Squire

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Location:
    Canada
    #5
    Thanks for the info everyone. It sounds like this will be a good investment. And carletonmusic...I love the 'tar.

    By the way, when I got my iMac, I took it out of the box, unplugged the Internet line from my PC, and plugged it into my Mac. There was nothing to it. I guess it's not always that easy, is it?

    Squire
     

Share This Page