Setting up my Maya directory to point to my Creative Cloud folder

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by Jessica Lares, Apr 26, 2013.

  1. macrumors G3

    Jessica Lares

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    Near Dallas, Texas, USA
    #1
    I would really like it if I could get some help pointing my 2014 Maya setup to my Creative Cloud folder so that it automatically syncs everything as I'm working. I want it mostly for easy access to my finished renders, and to not have to worry about my .mb files in general.

    For someone who has never worked in Maya, I'll give you the basics. When you open Maya, and there's no working folder to start a project, it automatically uses yourusername/Documents/maya/projects/ and then stores them in there. However, I'd like it to be at /Users/yourusername/Creative\ Cloud\ Files.

    This is how to setup a Maya.env:

    http://download.autodesk.com/global...ting_environment_variables_using_Maya.env.htm

    But apparently to do what I want to do, you have to set it up within OS X's own paths and you would have to launch Maya from the Terminal:

    http://download.autodesk.com/global...Environment_Variables_File_path_variables.htm

    Thanks. I know I could ask this in the Autodesk Area forums, but I'd rather not since it seems to be very Windows dominant.

    I didn't think Mac Basics was a good place for this either. :eek:
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    #2
    You can go there using the finder as well.

    Just open finder then in the menu Go / Go to folder , then type in "~/library" find Preferences/Autodeks/maya/[maya version] there you will find maya.env and you can edit it with textedit or similar.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors G3

    Jessica Lares

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    Near Dallas, Texas, USA
    #3
    Yes, I know that. I want to know exactly WHAT I'm supposed to be typing. I'd rather someone help me instead of doing it myself because I'm probably going to end up making a bunch of redundant folders appear and it'll be a huge mess.
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    #4
    MAYA_APP_DIR = ~/Creative/Cloud/Files.

    should do it, I'm currently on Windows, I'll check when I get home to my Mac
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    #5
    ah you can't...but, wait there is hope:

    from: http://download.autodesk.com/global...ile_path_variables.htm,topicNumber=d30e137272

    But I would recommend just set up and use the Project Manager.

    I never changed the default startup, but almost never use the default path (only for testing techniques) and usually work on network drives...where you instead would point to your Creative Cloud folder.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors G3

    Jessica Lares

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    Near Dallas, Texas, USA
    #6
    GOT IT, yay! I just went into Project Settings under the Preferences and changed the folder to my CC one. That was so much easier than I thought it would be.

    Although it's still making a folder in my Documents... Would prefer it not to do that. Oh well.
     

Share This Page