Setting up new Secure Network

Discussion in 'macOS' started by bigboy99, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. bigboy99 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Location:
    Deep in the Heart of Tejas
    #1
    I've been trying for over an hour to set up a new WEP secure network on my G4 (Tiger). Everything looks great - location, name, WEP 128 bit hex password. When I open Internet Connect and try to join the new network the message is "there was an error joining the Airport nework (name)."

    Suggestions?

    BB99
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    Are you using an AirPort base station?

    Maybe try it with a dollar sign ($) in front of the password too. :)
     
  3. bigboy99 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Location:
    Deep in the Heart of Tejas
    #3
    I'm using a Linksys wireless router. I've been able to get a secure network working with this computer at another location with a D-Link router, but it took forever (like this one), and when it started working I wasn't really sure what I had done differently.

    Not sure what the dollar sign might do. 128 bit hex requires a 26 character password (A~F, a~f, 0~9)
     
  4. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #4
    the dollar sign denotes hexadecimal in some programming languages
     
  5. semaja2 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    Adelaide
    #5
    well i wouldnt call WEP secure but have u tried WPA, also have u got any mac filters
     

Share This Page