Setup

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by waynepixel, Mar 22, 2003.

  1. waynepixel macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2003
    #1
    hi all


    I have 2 new hard-disk but am not too sure how to set-up the drives.


    I have options which are:

    1) master

    2) master-save present

    3) slave

    Could someone please say what is the best way to go about setting these drive.?:confused:
     
  2. benixau macrumors 65816

    benixau

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #2
    do you have any other drives already installed?
    what mac are you trying to install these on?
    are these going into external hard disk cases?
    are they going to be in a RAID array?

    if you can answer those then we can probably help you better. also, if you could tell us the make and model of the drives (as well as capacity of each) then it would help.

    ps. look for cable select as an option. tell us if it is there
     
  3. janey macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #3
    there's probably a cable select option...look for it.
     
  4. waynepixel thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2003
    #4
    Very Good point.

    Setup: G4 400MHz ATI Graphic card 32mb-AGP 700MB Ram OS X 10.2.4

    2 internal Hard Drives - IDE 40Gb Western Digital (WD400JB) ATA-100 (7200rpm, 8MB Cache, 8.5ms) Quiet Drive Technology.

    I what one drive for apps and one for backup or scratch disk for photoshop.
     
  5. waynepixel thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2003
    #5
    no there is no cable select as an option.

    there is only


    1) master

    2) master-save present

    3) slave
     
  6. benixau macrumors 65816

    benixau

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #6
    do you have any drives currently that you wish to keep inside? yes or no?
    what mac is it? (imac FP, pmac windtunnel, etc)
     

Share This Page