Shadows

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by Vader, Oct 16, 2004.

  1. Vader macrumors 65816

    Vader

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #1
    I have been making icons for a while and I wish I had a program to make dropshadows that is freeware. Anyone know of any?
     
  2. cb911 macrumors 601

    cb911

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Location:
    BrisVegas, Australia
    #2
    how about theGIMP? i'm pretty sure that'd do a heap of PhotoShop like stuff, and it's free. :cool: other than that, i'm not sure.
     
  3. Vader thread starter macrumors 65816

    Vader

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #3
    I downloaded gimp, and X11, but gimp says it doesn't recognize the file type for my icon. I made the icon in iconographer.

    Help?
     
  4. Vader thread starter macrumors 65816

    Vader

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #4
    Okay, nobody really said anything in this thread before, so I am going to bring it back to life...

    ...(blowing)...

    Okay, is it alive again yet?

    I just want some sort of drag an icon in and auto-shadow it with features to move the shadow and its size and darkness. I also need it to be free, or shareware, as long as it doesn't stamp something on my icon to make it hard to use, like the word demo across it or something.
     
  5. The Black Rock macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    #5
    You know a stolen copy of Photoshop is free...

    But if you're not into that, then try to crib someone's Photoshop elements. They come free with everything nowadays. I got one with the computer (I think), one with the scanner, one with the Wacom pad, and I think I got one from some where else. All of them ver. 7 though.
     
  6. tech4all macrumors 68040

    tech4all

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    NorCal
    #6
    Photoshop Elements 7.0? Photoshop Elements is only up to 3.0.
     
  7. The Black Rock macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    #7
    Okay then, they're 3.0 or less. I usually don't bother doing anything with them though, since I have the full version of CS now.
     
  8. Vader thread starter macrumors 65816

    Vader

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #8
    I have photoshop, but I think it is corrupted or something, I can't open it, it says there is a permissions problem, and I have it set to open, read and write, in my user. I have repaired permissions and al that, but it still gives the came error of me not having permission to use it. I can use Image Ready with no problems, how can I do shadows in that?, if it is possible.
    I wish Photoshop worked so I could do aqua icons!
     
  9. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #9
    Deleting and Reinstalling Photoshop off the original CDs while logged in as yourself should fix it.
     
  10. Vader thread starter macrumors 65816

    Vader

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #10
    I think the password or serial number or whatever you need to install has been lost, all I have is the disc. Is there a code that you need?
    If there is, I have lost or forgotten it, because my brother installed Photoshop long ago on my computer. I don't want to lose Image Ready if I do need a code when I put in the Photoshop again, because I use it a lot!
     

Share This Page