Sharing a partition with both bootcamp and parallels

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by DustMaker, Mar 1, 2007.

  1. DustMaker macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    #1
    I was just wondering if it was possible to use the same partition for both Bootcamp and Parallels.
    Because right now I have Parallels installed and would like to do bootcamp also, for some of the games I play.

    Thanks ahead of time,
    DustMaker
     
  2. mac-convert macrumors 6502a

    mac-convert

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Location:
    Are we there yet?
    #2
    Parallels does not use a partition. It's a file inside Mac OS.

    For bootcamp, you need part of your entire disk carved off to hold Windows.
     
  3. TraceyS/FL macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Location:
    North Central Florida
    #3
    Yes the latest Parallels I think i sthe one that can use the BC partition. I think you have to use the Beta - but i'm not sure, that is on today's list :D
     
  4. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #4
    Its not a beta anymore...a few days ago came the update so it is a final version, build 3186.
     
  5. TraceyS/FL macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Location:
    North Central Florida
    #5
    Oh good!!!!!

    Thanks - like I mentioned, XP in boot camp was yesterdays "thing", today is Parallels.
     
  6. quigleybc macrumors 68030

    quigleybc

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Location:
    Beautiful Vancouver British Columbia, Canada
    #6
    how does one access XP with parallels and bootcamp?

    I haven't installed bootcamp yet, but I have parallels running my copy of XP

    how do i just use one XP install for both programs? I have the latest build of Parallels too

    thanks :)
     
  7. Fleetwood Mac macrumors 65816

    Fleetwood Mac

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #7
    The procedure is simple, but can be annoying.

    Setup BootCamp partition > install XP > open up Parallels > create a new VM and if your running the latest version the BootCamp option should show up as a radio button. Vista not supported yet (I think).
     

Share This Page