Sharing fonts between macs?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by medea, Jun 15, 2006.

  1. macrumors 68030

    medea

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Location:
    Madison, Wi
    #1
    I have collected a decent amount of fonts on my iMac and I'd like to be able to use them on my MB as well. I'm hoping that copying each font over isn't the only solution. Any ideas?
    I wish fontbook had font sharing like iTunes has music sharing or iPhoto has photo sharing.
     
  2. macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #2
    Fonts are usually in (~)/Library/Fonts, so if you archive those over and then transfer and unpack....
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    gman71882

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    #3
    All your existing fonts that you installed in Fontbook end up in the Library/fonts folder. I really dont like Fontbook for managing them tho.

    Font managment software is the way to go especially if you have large amounts fonts. Font book DOES NOT HANDLE large amount of fonts well(150 or more). It activates all of them when you add them to the program. This in turn drags down the system resources and chews up RAM.

    Font Agent Pro or Extensis Suitcase are the Font Managment programs of choice for designers like myself and many others. You load all your fonts in them and activate them AS NEEDED. This way you wont have hundreds of fonts active at one time slowing down the computer. With Plugins for many aplications the Fonts Auto Activate when you open the file at a later date so you wont have to activate them repeatedly.
     
  4. Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    #4
    ^Just as an addendum to the previous post, Suitcase Server will do the trick but may well be overkill especially as it costs well over US$2000. :D

    Copying them over is probably what you'll have to do, I'm afraid.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 68030

    medea

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Location:
    Madison, Wi
    #5
    thanks for the replies, looks like I'm stuck copying them over.
     

Share This Page