Sharing Internet connection between two Macs.

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Old Sniffer, Dec 4, 2005.

  1. Old Sniffer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ely, England
    #1
    I'm trying to connect a second Mac to my Airport Internet connection. I already have a Powerbook connected (wireless) and I want to add a Mac Mini to the network. The mini does not have Airport and so needs to connect to the Base Station physically via LAN port. However, my modem has only one ethernet port and this requires me to connect to the LAN port on the base station (it won't transmit the wireless signal to the powerbook via the WAN port). This therefore excludes me from connecting the mini to the base station, as the mini can't connect to the internet via WAN (is this true?)

    When I spoke to my local Apple dealer, they said that it is very difficult to fit an airport card to a mini after it's left the factory (pre-configured is the only realistic option for airport card on a mini, they said). They recommended that I ditch the Airport Base Station and buy a Belkin or Netgear router with several ethernet ports. But I don't really want to buy another wireless router as Airport is OK.

    When I spoke to Applecare they said that an Ethernet Hub could be the solution. I was wondering if there is such a thing as a 'plug-in' adapter to split the ethernet port on the base station to allow for two ethernet connections to the LAN port there?

    Has anyone else got a similar set up? Is an ethernet hub the best (and cheapest) solution to this issue? If so, what additional type lead would I need to connect the hub to the base station?

    Grateful for any suggestions, and apologies is this issue has been discussed elsewhere on MF.

    Thanks.
     
  2. dops7107 macrumors 6502a

    dops7107

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2005
    Location:
    Perth, Oztrailya
    #2
    As I understand it:

    Airport base station is just a wireless access point, so you could plug it anywhere on your network. I think a hub/switch would do the thing - everything just plugs into that, including your modem. A hub *should* cost less than a router, but seeing as routers are more popular for home networking the difference could be minimal. Check out misco.co.uk - they have loads of networking products. NB a switch is not exactly the same as a hub; I think a switch is better able to share information packets around the network faster than a hub, but someone more technical should be able to fill in the details.

    I was not aware that adding wireless to a Mini was such an effort - it looks pretty simple from the build manual. It may well be more expensive than another router, however. I would like to find one for sale that I can fit myself, but no such thing exists as far as I can see (= pay through the teeth for Apple to do it).

    My setup is a non-wireless ADSL Netgear router into which all four computers in the house are wired. Nice n' simple.
     
  3. Passante macrumors 6502a

    Passante

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Location:
    on the sofa
    #3
    My airport express station connects to my DSL modem via the WAN port. This is how it is supposed to connect. WAN is for the main ethernet connection (in your case the ethernet connection from your cable/dsl modem) What kind of base station do you have? Airport or Airport express?
    If your base station is not working right you may want to replace it with an inexpensive 3rd party wireless router.
     
  4. Old Sniffer thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ely, England
    #4
    I have an Airport Extreme base station with one LAN and one WAN port. The DSL modem I have (an X-Modem) has only one LAN port and when I plug it into the WAN port on the base station, there is no connection to the internet (do I have to alter settings in the sysem prefs when moving from one port to the other?). Is it compatible to connect from a LAN port (on modem) to a WAN port (base station), or does it have to be LAN to LAN?
     
  5. Passante macrumors 6502a

    Passante

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Location:
    on the sofa
    #5
    Lets start with the basics:

    Verify you airport card can see the basestation Use the airport utility to configure the basestation
    plug the ethernet connection from your dsl modem into your labtop. verify internet service.
    Then plug the dsl ethernet into base station's WAN port
    Try connecting the powerbook wirelessly
     
  6. ITASOR macrumors 601

    ITASOR

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Oneida, NY
    #6
    Yup, you should be able to pick up a cheap netgear HUB for around $15 or $20. That'll do the trick!
     
  7. Old Sniffer thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ely, England
    #7
    Thanks all for your suggestions.

    I managed to connect the mini! - by just switching ethernet cable from DSL modem to WAN port on base station (after resetting) and plugging an additional ethernet cable from mac mini into the LAN port on base station.

    The problem was that I did not reset the modem as well! and switch it on before switching on the base station.

    This platform is so much better than windows - even the problems I encounter are easier to solve (and there are solutions!)
     

Share This Page