Sharing the internet

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Myradon, May 18, 2005.

  1. Myradon macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    #1
    Well I was given a 233mhz iMac running OS 9.1.
    I'm wondering if it's posssible to connect the Imac to my Windows XP machine and share my internect connection to the mac.
     
  2. Daveway macrumors 68040

    Daveway

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Location:
    New Orleans / Lafayette, La
    #2
    You are going to need a router and connect the machines using CAT5/WiFi. Your OS9 computer will get on the net, however, OS9 wasn't exactly a friend of Windows XP so don't expect good connections between them.
     
  3. 840quadra Moderator

    840quadra

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Location:
    Twin Cities Minnesota
    #3
    If you are doing internet connection sharing from the XP box, your OS9 comptuer will be able to connect just fine. You will need to put the OS9 box in the same IP range as the port you are connecting to on the XP box. This will only work if the XP box has 2 network connections (2 ethernet, or 1 ethernet, and 1 Wireless).

    I use Microsoft internet connection sharing on my Dell laptop to connect my OLD Macintosh LC computer to the internet. Since the Laptop is Wireless, and has a normal Ethernet connection also, I connect the LC to the Ethernet port on the laptop, and share my Wireless internet connection on the Dell with the LC.

    IT is the easiest way to make an old Macintosh Wifi compatible :)
     
  4. SFVCyclone macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Location:
    Pasadena, Ca
    #4
    hey i have SBCyahoo DSL,besides needing a router, i wondering how do i set up the ip's for the comps, gonna be using 2 macs for home mini network and i want both to have internet, is it automatic? any one know of any good sites that have really good info on this subject?
     
  5. makisushi macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #5
    The router will do it automatically. Your computer and router should already be set for automatic internal IP numbers. You really shouldn't have to do much at all.
     
  6. SFVCyclone macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Location:
    Pasadena, Ca
    #6
    AWESOME, so now the question is, which router? or will any do?
     
  7. makisushi macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #7
    Any will do...of course I am partial to the sleek design of the Airport.
     
  8. Muzukun macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2004
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #8
    I'm trying to do the same thing, however just through wifi. The XP computer has DSL and I'm wonering, DO I HAVE to get a router, or could I just toss a little wifi card into the XP machine and just do a computer to computer connection that way?
     

Share This Page