Sharing

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by Eckslusive, Dec 14, 2002.

  1. Eckslusive macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    #1
    I have a scanner on my mac and i would like to share that with the PC next to me. How would I do that? Or could i even do that?




    ----------
    Dual Processor G4 1.0 Ghz
     
  2. arn macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #2
    Re: Sharing

    Probably a switchbox of some sort. Is it USB?

    See if you can find a USB Switch box... plug both computers into the switch box and the scanner in... and you should be able to switch between the two.

    arn
     
  3. Eckslusive thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
  4. whocares macrumors 65816

    whocares

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Location:
    :noitаɔo˩
    #4
    You could probably scan it on one computer and save it directly on the other's HDD, but that wouldn't be real networking...
     
  5. BenderBot1138 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    #5
    Re: Sharing

    Arn's right... the switch is by far the easiest solution... but if you must... try to tell exactly what your machines are and what OS's each is running, and let the MacRumors have a go...

    It sounds like you already have some networking going between the two... is that a correct assumption?

    :cool:
     
  6. arn macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #6
    As in use it with each computer without a switchbox? Not that I'm aware of. Scanners, unlike printers, aren't usually networked like that.

    arn
     
  7. rainman::|:| macrumors 603

    rainman::|:|

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2002
    Location:
    iowa
    #7
    sharing an output device is one thing... USB printer sharing, etc. But i've never heard of network sharing of an input device. Even scalable computing labs, who have pretty high-tech setups, use complex switchbox setups to control keyboard and monitor control.

    I think a switchbox is your only option. The good news is there might be an automatic one-- that knows which computer is trying to use it, and adjusts itself, without you turning a knob.

    :)
    pnw
     

Share This Page