Sherlock and 10.3

Discussion in 'Mac Blog Discussion' started by MacRumors, Aug 13, 2003.

  1. macrumors bot

    MacRumors

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    #1
    Numerous readers report that that Sherlock temporarily gave a curious error message today:

    "Must upgrade to Mac OS X 10.3 to use this version of <channel>"

    The error message disappears after relaunch of Sherlock.
     
  2. arn
    macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #2
    I guess Apple's mucking around with the sherlock servers.

    arn
     
  3. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    #3
    As far a I can tell at Panther, even post WWDC preview versions, Sherlock has not had much attention. For all the bashing it got for mimicking Watson, it hasn't actually added up to any major comptetition in the field as far as I'm concerned.
    I'm not a Watson user, but Sherlock is simply ****e, and I never use it. Havent since the Pre X days, and it's gonna have to get alot smarter if I'm ever gonna start.
    Apple, I'm a convert waiting to happen, it's yours for the making. Do please try and do someting useful with Sherlock for once....
     
  4. macrumors 604

    MacBandit

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    Location:
    Springfield, OR (Home of the Simpsons)
    #4
    The big advantage is the new versions of Sherlock allow easy creation of plugins for it like the OS9 days. Apparently Watson is a pain to write for. If you don't use sherlock now you would if you did a search for plugins. I bet you would find a bunch of things you didn't know existed that allow you easy access to searches right from the finder.
     
  5. macrumors 68040

    Powerbook G5

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    St Augustine, FL
    #5
    On OS 9, I've always found Sherlock to be a pretty helpful tool...
     
  6. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #6
    For those of us outside the US, Sherlock is completely useless anyway ...
     
  7. macrumors 68000

    Freg3000

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Location:
    New York
    #7
    I am not sure if this has been brought up before, but in the first developer preview release of Panther (the one available immediately after WWDC), Sherlock was preloaded with a ton of 3rd party channels, including some internationally localized channels (in England and Japan I think). Does anyone know if they are still there in the newest builds of Panther?
     
  8. macrumors 68030

    Snowy_River

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    Corvallis, OR
    #8
    I tried this, and it didn't require me to restart Sherlock. After a moment giving me the 'must upgrade' message, it cleared the screen and loaded everything just fine. Also, is it my imagination, or is Sherlock actually running a little faster all of a sudden?
     
  9. macrumors 68000

    AppleMatt

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    Agreed.

    AppleMatt
     
  10. macrumors G5

    nagromme

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    #10
    As a US user, I love Sherlock. Not for multi-engine Web searches anymore (just build that into Safari and as a system Service please), but for movies and yellow pages.
     
  11. macrumors 68020

    bennetsaysargh

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #11
    well, i hope they do something god with sherlock. it's slow and has no plugins like the OS 9 version. OS 9 version owns all.
     
  12. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Location:
    The 909
    #12
    When I first upgraded to Jaguar, I used Sherlock all the time...but after a while I decided it was easier to use the websites than the plugins and I haven't used sherlock since. If they could make it faster or something, well, maybe I'll go back to it, but for now, It's lost it's place in my dock.

    Also: I wonder if this means that sherlock will stop working when 10.3 comes out.
     
  13. macrumors 68040

    mac15

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Location:
    Sydney
    #13
    Sure is, I think the best thing us Australians have is the flights channel, It shows flights that go through Sydney Airport
     
  14. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    #14
    Got the error too...

    Use Sherlock for movies and YP...
     
  15. macrumors 65816

    NavyIntel007

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #15
    I use sherlock occationally. It's in my dock because I find it useful. Good to have for movies, tracking my girlfriend's plane when she comes to visit, translations were a god send when I was taking spanish, ebay.... All I want is for it to be faster.
     
  16. macrumors 68040

    Powerbook G5

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    St Augustine, FL
    #16
    I use Sherlock on OS 9 and it is seriously one awesome program, if it's true that Sherlock isn't as powerful on OS X, I will be upset when I upgrade to OS X later when I get my new PowerBook.
     
  17. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Bronx, NY
    #17
    sherlock is a good program, but forgotten. if they speed it up, and tweak the current channels, they could have a killer app on their hands
     
  18. macrumors 68040

    Powerbook G5

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    St Augustine, FL
    #18
    Perhaps this recent error is indication that Apple is already thinking the same thing...
     
  19. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
    #19
    Sherlock? What's Sherlock ;)

    Never used it since they didn't require Sherlock for file searching. It got pretty annoying in OS 9 with it getting rather large considering you only just wanted to find a file...

    I echo the sentiment of it being next to useless outside of the U.S., but with my experience with Watson, so was Watson. Personally I've never found a reason to use Sherlock, except when it first debuted in 8.5 (asking real questions was great), but once you know how to search Google properly, no need for Sherlock.
     
  20. macrumors 604

    MacBandit

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    Location:
    Springfield, OR (Home of the Simpsons)
    #20
    Actually with Jaguar Sherlock is completely open to 3rd party plug-ins again and there are tons upon tons of them.

    Also there are country localized plug-ins.

    Here are some sites.

    http://mac.iconet.com.br/sherlockplugins.html

    http://mailbox.univie.ac.at/~prillih3/software/

    http://mac.tucows.easynet.nl/general_sherlock-plug_default.html

    http://mac.excaliburworld.com/sherlock.html
     
  21. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    #21
    Maybe Sherlock becomes a RSS-client :D like NetNewsWire
     
  22. macrumors 6502a

    mangoman

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2002
    Location:
    Second Floor
    #22
    And I thought I was the only one who saw Sherlock as slower than a turd on a block of ice.

    (wipes brow).

    Guess I'm not alone on that one!
     
  23. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Location:
    This Old House
    #23
    None of you guys use Sherlock for Apple Care searches?
     
  24. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    #24
    I can't say I do. The only problem I ever had that (almost) required AppleCare was when I installed some RAM we had lying around in the basement... I tried putting it into this old iMac DV so it would have enough to run OS X (It had 64, and I had a 64 lying around). Apparently, if the RAM has been sitting in an open static bag (you know, those bags that prevent static electricity) for 3 years, it doesn't always work properly. When I installed it, the machine started up with this weird reddish glow over the monitor and the mouse was mirrored on two other places on the screen :lol: I promptly ordered a cheap 64 MB module off of eBay for 20 dollars, and it now serves as a web server without a web page.
     
  25. macrumors 604

    MacBandit

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    Location:
    Springfield, OR (Home of the Simpsons)
    #25
    I do frequently to answer questions people have on these boards. It's funny how people don't know of or don't use all there resources before asking someone else for help. Oh, well that's why I and others are here.

    Sherlock 3 doesn't run any slower on my Dual/GHz/DDR PowerMac then Sherlock 2 did on my B/W G3 400. It helps to have a fast internet connection also as Sherlock accesses data off the net each time you start it up and select a new channel. The new Sherlock is suppose to be really fast.
     

Share This Page