shortcut to cycle through safari windows??

Discussion in 'Mac OS X 10.3 (Panther) Discussion' started by thevessels, Nov 4, 2004.

  1. thevessels macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    #1
    is there a way to cycle through your safari web windows just like apple+tab shuffles through your different apps?
    if so i gottttsta know!
    if not expose will continue to do..
    -chris
     
  2. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #2
    ⌘-~ cycles through windows, Shift-⌘-arrow cycles through tabs in a window.
     
  3. emw macrumors G4

    emw

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    #3
    Actually, Shift-Command-Arrow goes between tabs...
     
  4. thevessels thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
  5. superninjagoat macrumors 6502

    superninjagoat

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Location:
    Apex, N.C
    #5
    Note: that works in any application, with the exception that shift-command-~ cycles through windows in reverse.

    And at least on my machine, the shift-command-~ does not cycle through tabs, but windows in reverse order.

    EDIT: and with the shift-command-(L or R) arrow shortcut listed above, we have the answer to my conundrum above.
     
  6. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #6
    Yup, as pointed out, I meant 'arrow', not '~'. Sorry! But I did use the cool '⌘' symbol. ;)
     
  7. emw macrumors G4

    emw

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    #7
    How exactly do you get that cool '?' symbol? Aside from copy and paste, which I just did...

    Edit: Which apparently didn't work once I posted???
     
  8. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #8
    Ah, grasshopper...

    Use the HTML code (one decent source of which can be found here). For example, to get the ⌘ symbol, you'd type:

    Code:
    &#8984
    where you wanted to place the symbol. Now... how did I get that to show up without showing the symbol? ;)
     
  9. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #9
    Hint: it isn't by putting it in a code block. I can put both the symbol '⌘' and the code for it (&#8984) in a normal sentence.
     
  10. coconn06 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Location:
    King of Prussia, PA
    #10
    You used the code for '&' instead of the actual '&': &#8984. Tada!
     
  11. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #11
    We have a winner!
     
  12. emw macrumors G4

    emw

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    #12
    I've got ½ a mind to use that as an ⌥ from now on.
     
  13. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #13
    Speaking of which, I've never found the '⌥' symbol to be particularly intuitive. It just doesn't scream 'option' to me. The ⌘ key wouldn't be intuitive either - except that it's right there on the keyboard....
     

Share This Page