shortcut to un-minimizing windows?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Star Destroyer, Nov 17, 2006.

  1. Star Destroyer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    #1
    So far i have been using my keyboard shortcuts as much as i can instead of having to use the trackpad while on my macbook, but i have noticed that their is a keyboard shortcut to minimize a window (Apple+m) but once its down there thats its. I have not come across a shortcut to bring it back up, does one exist?

    Its a little thing, but i have noticed it sucking, i guess i could just hide everything, but sometimes i just dont want to hahaa..

    soo does it exist in Tiger?
     
  2. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #2
    what happens if you command+tab to that application you minimized?
     
  3. adrianblaine macrumors 65816

    adrianblaine

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Location:
    Pasadena, CA
    #3
    I have always wanted a shortcut for this as well. Command-tab does not work for un-minimizing windows.
     
  4. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #4
    I think it works if you hide the application (Command+h), I always confuse the two.
     
  5. tobefirst macrumors 68040

    tobefirst

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #5
    You can do it from the keyboard...but it's not the most direct route. At least the way I found isn't.

    You can shift focus to the dock by hitting control-F3, then cursor down or over to the hidden app, and hit enter.
     
  6. adrianblaine macrumors 65816

    adrianblaine

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Location:
    Pasadena, CA
    #6
    Yeah, you are right. In fact I think I might start using "hide" now instead of "minimize" simply because it does what I want better. I don't really need to see a little preview in the dock. Thanks for the tip!
     
  7. adrianblaine macrumors 65816

    adrianblaine

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Location:
    Pasadena, CA
    #7
    I've been playing with "hide" for the last few minutes. It does work really well but I found some limitations.

    1. If you hide a window in say Firefox, it hides the entire app, so all the windows disappear.

    2. You are limited to only hiding 3 apps at a time.

    It still is pretty cool. Wish there was a way to combine hide and minimize. Maybe Spaces in Leopard will solve some of these things.
     
  8. heehee macrumors 68020

    heehee

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Location:
    Same country as Santa Claus
    #8
    1. Why don't you use tabs in Firefox?

    2. Nope, you can hide as many applications as you want.
     
  9. Star Destroyer thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    #9
    Yeah i was playing around with this, and you can hide as many apps as you like, but still no un-minimizing :(

    and when I ctrl-F3 all it does is adjust my volume..
     
  10. apfhex macrumors 68030

    apfhex

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Northern California
    #10
    1. Yes, because hiding hides the whole app, it's not meant for individual windows.

    2. No, you can hide any amount of apps.

    Try fn-ctrl-f3. it's cause the key on your laptop normally adjusts the volume unless you hold the fn key (you can reverse the behavior in System Preferences).

    I almost never minimize windows. It would be nice if you could bring them back with a shortcut, but how would that work? You have to have some way of telling it which window you want to bring up, unless the shortcut were to un-minimize ALL windows. That wouldn't be so bad either.
     
  11. adrianblaine macrumors 65816

    adrianblaine

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Location:
    Pasadena, CA
    #11
    Yes, I use tabs in Firefox, but I also like having separate windows as well so I can command~ through them. Its more complicated to switch between tabs with the keyboard.

    It is weird that I am only able to hide three Apps at a time. I tried it at least 20 times with different combinations of different programs and after I hid the 3rd app it would not let me hide any more.
     
  12. quigleybc macrumors 68030

    quigleybc

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Location:
    Beautiful Vancouver British Columbia, Canada
    #12
    That is weird, I just set ten apps to hide
     

Share This Page