Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

kathl85

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 14, 2004
Canada
I currently have a Toshiba Satellite 1800, 240mb ram, 1.10 Ghz, Pentinum 3 processor, 30GB. I've had it for almost three years, but lately a lot of problems have arised. The LCD screen keeps going blank, the CD-rw is broken, the computer shuts down everytime I pause a dvd or avi. I am thinking about buying another laptop, and if I do, I want to know if I should get a notebook or a powerbook (or maybe even an ibook). Here are a couple things you should know about me, I am a college student, I can afford a 12' G4 powerbook or a Toshiba Satellite P10 (or something else?). I mainly use my computer for downloading a lot of music/videos/software, so I usually attract a lot of spyware/viruses. I want a dvd-rw/rom to burn all my music/videos, also a cd-rw/rom. I also use it to browse the internet and write some programming. I need a faster, reliable laptop that doesn't always have a breakdown, and excellent with multimedia, esp with avi files. I would appreciate your input! :)

dav

macrumors 6502
Jun 29, 2004
Well, the powerbooks are *expecting* some updates in the near future.

I would say wait until the new line rolls out, then see what they have to offer.

jackieonasses

macrumors 6502a
Mar 3, 2004
the great OKLAHOMA....
kathl85 said: