Should I buy an iMac 20"?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Ayria, Jan 25, 2007.

1. Ayria macrumors member

Ayria

I am seriously considering buying an iMac 20" as i do a lot of work in PS CS2 and also a fair amount of coding in php and ajax for online web application development.

I have been a windows user from the DOS years! And have never touched a MAC until 3 weeks ago. I thought Windows was all that really mattered. However I have grown so tired of the bugs and virus and trojans and hackers and...

It seems to have good specs. I have some quick q's...

1. Does anyone have any experience with them. Are their heat problems at all with the motherboard and moinitor all in one sealed unt?

2. I also need to run some windows apps that have no eq on Macs. Does Parralles really work as good as they say it does?

I am happy to take any advice...

(I feel kinda excited at the propect of deserting the world of windows - it is like i have been eating cold beans for 15 years and now i want some smarties with a toping of innovation. Apple Inc are certainly innovative - the iPhone sold me on the company! I watched the complete video of over an hour!)

Cheers

Ayria :apple:

2. Scarlet Fever macrumors 68040

Scarlet Fever

First off, congrats on the switch; once you join the club, you'll never look back :D
    If there were, you would have heard about them; people are very vocal when complaining about Apple's products, but quiet in praise :)

My cousin has a G5 20" iMac, and it's pretty cool; i never really notice the fan, and the case isn't hot.
    Parallels should work for what you need. What kind of programs do you use? People here might be able to point out some similar programs for you :)

3. yojitani macrumors 68000

yojitani

None that I have noticed or heard about

No idea. Windows?