Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Sixthdeclension

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 11, 2010
Right now, I'm in my 3rd year of college. I go to a commuter school, and the trip is typically 1.5-2 hours by public transportation, so I usually try to travel with as little bulk as possible. I started considering buying a tablet recently for a couple of reasons.
  1. Portability. I was extremely anti iPad/tablet for a long time, but eventually I could no longer deny the benefits of its portability. It's so thin, and definitely lighter than carrying several notebooks and folders and countless sheets of hopelessly unorganized papers that make my poor shoulder ache for days on end.
  2. Notetaking. Okay, I have done some research, and I am aware that there is some debate on this matter, but many of my classmates have iPads, and they seem to have no issues with taking notes on it, and there are some great apps out now for notetaking, and some even record speech. The latter feature would be perfect for long, boring lectures.
  3. Internet Access. As I mentioned above, I commute to school. I do have a laptop, but I almost never bring it with me. For one thing, it's pretty heavy. In addition, it holds its charge for about two hours, usually a little less than that. It's pretty sad. Especially considering the fact that I spent over $1000 on it, and it's only 3 years old now. Thanks, Sony. I did think about just buying a macbook to replace my Sony laptop, but I just don't want to get rid of it because it is still new (to me, at least. I'm not the type to buy the latest technology), and it does work really well. It just has a terrible battery life.