Should I join ADC just for the discount??

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by starcrossed, May 27, 2004.

1. starcrossed macrumors regular

I have noticed that the prices from Apple's ADC Store are still cheaper than the Apple Education Store. Well as a student, it says that I can join for just $99 a year, which would still save me some money on purchases through that year, so I was wondering if this is indeed possible and if I won't get in trouble or anything since I'm not a true developer. I figure as long as I pay my money and prove I'm a student, Apple won't really give a care. I also read that Apple will give ADC members a once-in-a-lifetime substantial discount on Apple Hardware. Could someone explain to me how this works and how much the discount would be, maybe on a 15'' Powerbook w.Superdrive. Also I remembered another question, is the amount you can buy in the year the same with the education store with 1 computer allowed and only two software titles? Any response to this post would be greatly appreciated.

2. sandercox macrumors newbie

Officially your purchases via the developer progam are machines you may only use for development purposes... I've no idea how strict Apple is on this and as long as the BSA isn't dropping by you won't have any problems I *think*
    I've no idea what the actual discounts are.

3. jxyama macrumors 68040

jxyama

$100 is for student ADC. you get once a lifetime discount on the hardware. i assume this is what you are talking about. i hear they may ask you to prove that you are taking developer related classes by fax. (but not always) this can be as simple as taking an intro C++ class.

$500 is for regular ADC. you get once a year discount on hardware, after your first year of membership.

4. starcrossed thread starter macrumors regular