Should I open my free iPod mini, or wait?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by crazydreaming, Aug 31, 2005.

1. crazydreaming macrumors 6502a

crazydreaming

I haven't opened the iPod mini that was free with the Powerbook I bought a few weeks ago for school.

Now that I am in school, there have been some times where I've been tempted to open it. The original plan was however that I was going to sell it. I am a poor college student :eek:

If I am going to get an iPod mini, it would be silly to sell this, and then wait a few more weeks before I decide I really want one and then go out and buy one...

But, I just heard about possible updates. So should I sell it? Open it? Or just wait until the event and take it from there. How much does the value really drop after opening it?

Thanks for any help.

2. tikibangout macrumors regular

tikibangout

Well, ask yourself if you think you'll use it much. If not, i'd say sell it.

3. hayduke macrumors 65816

hayduke

The going rate...

The going rate for the 4Gb version is ~$165-$170 if it is new and unopened. You can "verify" this by looking for what people are trying to fetch for them on Craigslist.com. If you got the student price of $179 and paid tax then it probably cost you about $190-200 so you are losing a bit on the transaction and you lose more if you open it, and more if you try to sell it after new ones come out. I'd probably keep it. If you haven't started to save for retirement, why start now?

4. djkny macrumors 6502

Man, you must have the serious luxury of mucho time on your hands ... really. And I mean that because I'm envious of you, actually! Open it and use it! Why wait it out and wait it out and burn time like this, when everything gets updated eventually? Think about it. With your logic, you might as well wait until Sept 2006 when Vpod mini's will arrive with 15GB flash drives.

Just use it now. You won't regret it.

5. pammyspyce macrumors regular

pammyspyce