Should I purchase a Power Mac

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by pcho, May 15, 2005.

1. pcho macrumors newbie

Hi all,
    I am a PC user for the past 20 yrs. Don't know much about mac's at all. I have a win 2000 server at home and numerous PC's running off it.

I am a very keen photographer (not a pro though) but my current P4 1.8 ghz with 1 gig of ram is shoowing its age. I rely on photoshop for all my processing work and my photo files can get up to 150-200 mb when working with layers.

I was told that power macs works better than PC's with regards to photographic and video editing.

I tried configurating a fast PC and priced a powermac 2.7 ghz and the PC comes up to be just as expensive as the power mac. Mind you the PC is more expensive because I was using parts that was more than I need or require. The mac configuration seems just perfect, nothing seems to be over specs.

Now what should I do, Mac or PC. I know what all of you would say, mac of couse, its a mac forum :). I just want some constructive advice. I am confused. I have changed my favour a number of times. Another thing, I have a Toshiba tablet, and my work is PC based. A bit worried about comunicating between my home PC server and my other PC's even though I was assured that it would not be a problem.

Perry

2. combatcolin macrumors 68020

combatcolin

If your going to buy a Powermac make sure its a dual CPU model.

If the software supports it, and a lot but not all do, then the increase in performance can be anywhere from nice to mind blowing.

Photoshop is definatly worth the money for the latest Dual CPU supporting version on a Dual CPU.

Also the PM has PCI slots, so you can chuck in a cheap video in card.

Make sure you upgrade the graphics card, it dosn't cost that much and you get a lot more ommph for your money.

Memory is the same as PC land, as much as you can afford - its worth getting 2 large DIMMS as the PM takes RAM in pairs.

2 X 512MB = 1GB

or