should I reformat/reinstall OS?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by sunsnewmac, Mar 3, 2007.

  1. sunsnewmac macrumors 6502

    sunsnewmac

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    #1
    Hi
    I'm having some major networking problems with my new MacBook, which I bought "open box" from a major retailer a few days ago. The good price I got is offset by the fact that the MacBook seems a little buggy. I'm thinking it might have to do with being a floor model or a return. Is it best to reformat/reinstall in this case just to start from scratch?
     
  2. Father Jack macrumors 68020

    Father Jack

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #2
    It certainly wont do any harm ...... and it means during installation you can leave out all the foreign language stuff you don't need. :)

    FJ
     
  3. sunsnewmac thread starter macrumors 6502

    sunsnewmac

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    #3
    Thank you Father!
    Can you pls direct me to a web page/forum post with easy to follow (for mac newbies :)) instructions on how to do that?
    thanks
    S
     
  4. Father Jack macrumors 68020

    Father Jack

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #4
    No problem my son !!

    Just insert your install disk and restart. Follow the onscreen instructions. At one point you will be given the option to "Erase and install" ... thats the option to choose. Once you have reinstalled Tiger remember to use the "System Update" (found by "clicking" the Apple symbol at the top left of the screen)

    I will pray for you. :)


    FJ
     
  5. sunsnewmac thread starter macrumors 6502

    sunsnewmac

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    #5
    thank you :)
    I will repost when the deed is done...
     
  6. Father Jack macrumors 68020

    Father Jack

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #6
    GOOD LUCK ;)

    FJ
     
  7. sunsnewmac thread starter macrumors 6502

    sunsnewmac

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    #7
    update on reformat/reinstall: generally happy

    Thank you again Father for your kind help.
    The reformat/reinstall went smoothly and the Mac:apple: Book has a nice fresh feel and a new name too :)
    Unfortately, however, it appears that it did not fix the networking issues I am having. We have a wireless network that connects 2 desktop PCs and the MacBook. While the 2 PCs never have trouble communicating or sharing files it seems the Mac is quite testy with both PCs. It will sometimes see one and not the other; and then suddenly will switch. This is a central issue because we have a lot of files that need to be shared among all computers and also need printer sharing. Please help me Father!:(

    Also I need to know how to maintain stability so that the shared files/drives/printer aliases stay on the Mac desktop. How is that possible:confused:
     
  8. Father Jack macrumors 68020

    Father Jack

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #8
    Sorry I'm afraid you will need help from someone more knowledgeable than me.

    Always make sure you download the latest software upgrades.

    FJ
     
  9. deadpixels macrumors 6502a

    deadpixels

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    #9
    if your problem isn't fixed yet, you should first try to delete all your network and airport preferences. then restart your mac. make your wireless network open first (without wep or anything) to try to see where the problem is. then your mac should see the wireless network and connect to it. then you can put your mac to sleep and wake it up to see if it looses the network or not, or do a restart too to see if it keeps the settings. i suppose you are using dhcp (automatic settnigs) in your network. if the problem persist you could try to assign static ip addresses to yuor machines and see if that helps. if the mac works fine with the open (key less) network then you can try to put a key (wep etc..) ans see if all is fine. hope that helps a bit. :D
     

Share This Page